Tom Bergeron to Host Second Annual Student Production Awards

Tom Bergeron (America's Funniest Home Videos / Dancing With The Stars) will host the second annual Student Production Awards. 2017 Presenters including Chris Hansen (Crime Watch Daily), Nancy O'Dell and Kevin Frazier (ET), Julie Chen, Sheryl Underwood, Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osbourne (The Talk), Laura Wright and Chad Duell (General Hospital), Pat Sajak and Vanna White (Wheel of Fortune) and Whoopi Goldberg (The View) will pre-record the nominations. Mr. Bergeron will reveal the recipients' names during a live-stream from the Los Angeles campus of Emerson College on Tuesday, October 3rd at noon, PDT.

Nominees were selected from high school student entries across the country in 23 programming and craft categories. Over 200 young professionals, culled from 19 regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, were successfully narrowed down by judges selected from industry professionals to university professors, to advance to the national competition. The honorees will receive a NATAS certificate and a crystal pillar award, emblazoned with the world famous EMMY® Logo for their school.

For more than a decade the Regional Chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences have hosted the Regional High School Student Production Awards. This year, regional recipients have advanced to the national competition. As the proliferation of affordable cameras and computer editing programs become more available to students, high schools across the country are embracing media courses. The number of regional entries to The National Student Production Awards has grown steadily every year. NATAS is acknowledging a new media savvy generation, whose work has proven to be extraordinary. Judges, selected from industry professionals to university professors, have determined that winning entries are worthy of national television exposure. High school winners have gone on to participate in academy events, while many enthusiastic participating students have even secured work in the highly competitive industry of entertainment production, shortly after graduation. In fact, many are now professional Emmy® Award recipients.

"Encouraging the next generation of television professionals is an integral part of our mission to honor excellence in television," said Chuck Dages, Foundation Chairman, NATAS. "The amount of talent and passion shown by these young people looking to enter our industry continues to impress and astound us and we take pride in shining a light on those that will one day become the leaders of our iconic industry."

"Our Foundation continues to acknowledge the young professionals that are the future of our industry with our 2nd Annual Student Production Awards," said Bob Mauro, President & CEO, NATAS. Under the leadership of Daniel Mannion, our Education Chair, this event continues to grow and attract the participation of Tom Bergeron and other television professionals and honor the high level of production being accomplished by these young men and women across our great country."

The live-stream will be produced by David Michaels, NATAS SVP, Daytime, and Education Chair, Danielle Mannion with Nic Duggar, TNDV, directing. NATAS would like to thank and acknowledge their Sponsors, Warner Chappell Production Music (, Nic Duggar, owner of TNDV ( and Emerson College ( for its facility and participation in making these awards possible.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk