Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photos: 2012 Starry Spirit Awards Red Carpet - Zac Efron, Michelle WIlliams & More!


Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, held its annual honors yesterday, February 25, in Santa Monica. Hosted by Seth Rogan, the awards ceremony premiered later that night at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT on IFC.

Winners included Christopher Plummer, Michelle Williams, the company of The Artist and more! CLICK HERE for a full winners list.  Below, BroadwayWorld takes you onto the starry red carpet.

Now in its 27th year, the Film Independent Spirit Awards is an annual celebration honoring artist-driven films made with an economy of means by filmmakers who embody independence and originality. The Spirit Awards recognizes the achievements of American independent filmmakers and promotes the finest independent films of the year to a wider audience.

Awards are given in the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best International Film, Best Documentary, and the Robert Altman Award. The Filmmaker Grants include the Piaget Producers Award, Audi Someone to Watch Award, Nokia Truer Than Fiction Award and Jameson FIND Your Audience Award.

Film Independent is a non-profit arts organization that champions independent film and supports a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation, and uniqueness of vision. Film Independent helps filmmakers make their movies, builds an audience for their projects, and works to diversify the film industry. Film Independent produces the Spirit Awards, the annual celebration honoring artist-driven films and recognizing the finest achievements of American independent filmmakers. Film Independent also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival, showcasing the best of American and international cinema and the Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, a year-round, weekly program that offers unique cinematic experiences for the Los Angeles creative community and the general public. For more information, visit

Photo Credit: RD / Orchon / Retna Digital

Zac Efron

Kirsten Dunst

Terrence Howard and Guest

Chris Pine

Michelle Williams

Busy Philipps

Laura Dern

Elizabeth Banks

Simon Baker

Ian Somerhalder

Julia Ormond

Giovanni Ribisi

Benjamin Bratt

Matthew Lillard

Shailene Woodley

Jessica Chastain

Jessica Chastain

Jeff Nichols, Jessica Chastain and Michael Shannon

James Cromwell

Tracee Ellis Ross

Anthony Mackie

Anna Kendrick

Anna Kendrick

Stana Katic

William H. Macy

Bryan Cranston

Kate Beckinsale

Kate Beckinsale

Illeana Douglas

Lucy Liu

Lucy Liu

Elizabeth Olsen

Anne Heche

Goran Visnjic and Guest

John Waters

Blanca Suarez

Garcelle Beauvais

Michelle Chen

Ed Lauter

Alexander Skarsgard

Amara Miller

Maria Leon

Penelope Ann Miller

Zoe Saldana

Zoe Saldana

Carson Kressley

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hilarie Burton

Demian Bichir & Guest

Jay Van Hoy & Lars Knudsen

Megan Griffiths & Benjamin Kasulke

Paz Vega 

Kelly Lynch & Guest

Mark Duplass and Guest

Christopher Plummer

Li Bingbing

Related Articles View More TV Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You