NY Indie Theatre Film Festival Opens Tonight At New Ohio Theatre

NY Indie Theatre Film Festival Opens Tonight At New Ohio Theatre

The 2019 NY Indie Theatre Film Festival opens tonight, February 8 at 7pm, with the NY festival premiere of Poor Behavior (2016), written by Theresa Rebeck. Based on her play of the same name, Ms. Rebeck (upcoming spy thriller 355, Broadway's Bernhardt/Hamlet, NBC's "Smash") makes her film directorial debut with this dark, dysfunctional comedy. Rebeck will participate in a talkback after the screening, moderated by Marc Stuart Weitz, New Ohio Theatre's Producing Director.

The 2019 NYITFF is produced by the award-winning New Ohio Theatre, in Manhattan's West Village, and runs through February 11. The festival showcases over 30 short films, excerpts of features, and web series episodes made by theatre artists defying labels and branching out into recorded content. This year's lineup includes 14 world and New York premieres.

The complete list of selections for the 2019 NYITFF are:

· Adam (excerpt), wr. James Patrick Nelson, dir. Doug C. Williams

· Boyfriend, co-creator David Moragas + Jacob Perkins
New York Premiere

· Brown Fish, wr. + dir. Troy Deutsch

· But This Is How It Will End, wr. + dir. Amy Epstein, starring Steven Rattazzi
World Premiere

· Committed, co-wr. + co-dir. Rachel Handler

· Constance Cooks, co-cr. Marc Stuart Weitz + Constance Zaytoun, dir. Rosalie Tenseth

· Così, dir. Dara Malina

· Dirty Thirty, wr. Marlowe Holden, dir. Elyse Niblett
New York Premiere

· Don't Suck, wr. + dir. Tyler Martin

· Heartland, wr. + dir. Marissa Molnar
World Premiere

· Hey Charlie, dir. Shaun Irons, starring Charlie Kaufman
World Premiere

· Human Resources, cr. Molly Brenner, dir. Sarah Smallwood Parsons

· I'm Not THE ONE You're After Henry, wr. + dir. Eri Nox
World Premiere

· Love In NY: A Series of Shorts, co-cr. Matthew Russell + Sven Jähnert

· Norma, wr. Dominic Finocchiaro, dir. Jenny Leigh Reed
World Premiere

· okaasan (Mom), okaasan (mom)
wr. + dir. Kana Hatakeyama

· Over/Under, wr. Theresa Gambacorta, dir. Natalie Johnson
World Premiere

· Phoney, wr. + dir. Grace Palmer

· Pokemon NO, wr. Valerie Work, dir. George Gross

· Skin Balloon, wr. + dir. Jenny Grace

· Spell Claire, wr. + dir. Greg Emetaz

· SPF, wr. Nikhil Mahapatra + dir. India Marie Paul
World Premiere

· The Adventures of Paul and Marian (excerpt), wr. + dir. Jay Stern

· The Journey, co-dir. Derya Celikkol + Sarah Leriche

World Premiere

· The Living Worst (excerpt), written by Zibby Allen & Erin Anderson & Jen Reiter & Amy Peterson, dir. Cheryl Nichols

· The Next Right Thing, dir. Dionna McMillian

· The Seven Men of Hanukkah, wr. Sharon Cooper, dir. Daryl Lathon

· The Sunny Side, wr. + dir. Mike Swift

· The Transcendents (excerpt), wr. + dir. Derek Ahonen

· Toys, anim. + dir. Amanda Quaid, based on a poem by Peggy Pope

· Who Knows?, co-dir. Alex Basco Koch + Kevin Townley
World Premiere

The 2019 NYITFF closes on February 11, at 7pm, with a screening to mark the end of the fifth-annual Film Race, a benefit for F*It Club. Anyone can enter a short film made during the 3 days of the festival to compete for the grand prize, and the screening is for audiences to watch the completed entries and vote for the winner.

New Ohio Theatre is located at 154 Christopher Street between Greenwich and Washington Streets in New York City. Tickets to all festival screenings and events can be purchased by phone at (866) 811-4111 or online at http://NewOhioTheatre.org/screenings2019.htm.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram