HOMELAND Among Winners of Artios Awards® For Outstanding Achievement in Casting


The Casting Society of America (CSA) winners were announced tonight of the 28th Annual Artios Awards® For Outstanding Achievement in Casting. Hosted by Nicole Sullivan, the award ceremony was held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. In Los Angeles. Presenters included Anna Kendrick, Jeremy Renner, Armie Hammer, Jean Smart, Nat Faxon, Atticus Shaffer, Michael Hoffman, and Cedric the Entertainer. The New York ceremony was canceled due to Hurricane Sandy.

Given each year, in addition to the awards presented to casting directors for their achievements in Theatre, Television, and Film casting, the CSA also gave out the following special awards to Casting Director Lora Kennedy for the Hoyt Bowers Award given for excellence in casting; Harvey Fierstein received The New York Apple Award given to individual for contributions to the New York casting community and Ben Affleck, who received the Career Achievement Award.

Presented yearly for outstanding achievement in casting, awards are given on the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. The term “Artios” is from the ancient Greek word meaning “perfectly fitted.”

Presented annually, the awards are given on the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. Named for the Greek word meaning “perfectly fitted,” the Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel attended by 500 industry leaders. The first New York awards were first given in 1988.

Awards were given out in the following categories: Big Budget Feature – Drama, Big Budget Feature – Comedy, Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama, Feature – Studio or Independent – Comedy, Low Budget Feature – Comedy or Drama,

Animation Feature, Daytime Drama Series, Television Pilot Drama, Television Pilot Comedy, Television Series Drama, Television Series Comedy, Television Movie or Mini Series, Children’s Series, and Television Animation, New York Broadway Theatre – Drama, New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy, New York Broadway Theatre – Musical, New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical, New York Theatre – Drama, Regional Theatre East, Regional Theatre West, and Los Angeles Theatre.

CSA is the premiere organization of theatrical casting directors in film, television, and theatre. A united professional society, CSA consistently sets the level of professionalism in casting on which the entertainment industry has come to rely: by being passionately committed to establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the industry, enhancing the stature of the profession in the industry, freely exchanging information and ideas among members, providing the opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of its members, and providing members with professional support and resources. With more than 500 members, the CSA has representation in the United States, Canada, Europe, England, Australia, and South Africa. For further information, please visit: www.castingsociety.com.

2012 Artios Award Winners for Outstanding Achievement in Casting
Winners Are Noted With An ** Asterisk

Daytime Drama Series
“The Young and the Restless,” Judy Blye Wilson **
“Days of Our Lives,” Marnie Saitta
“General Hospital,” Mark Teschner

Television Pilot Drama
“Homeland,” Junie Lowry Johnson, Libby Goldstein, Julie Tucker, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Craig Fincannon (Location Casting) **
“A Gifted Man,” Bernard Telsey, Risa Bramon Garcia, David Vaccari, Patrick Goodwin (Associate)
“Once Upon A Time,” Veronica Collins Rooney, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting)
“Revenge,” Elizabeth Barnes, Corbin Bronson, Craig Fincannon (Location Casting), Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Erica Berger (Associate)
“Smash,” Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield

Television Pilot Comedy
“Girls,” Jennifer Euston **
“2 Broke Girls,” Julie Ashton-Barson
“Don’t Trust the B---- in Apartment 23,” Lisa Miller Katz
“House of Lies,” Felicia Fasano, Erica Silverman (Associate)
“New Girl,” Juel Bestrop, Seth Yanklewitz
“Up All Night,” Shani Ginsberg, Jeff Greenberg, Allen Hooper (Associate) *

Television Series Drama
“The Good Wife,” Mark Saks, John Andrews (Associate) **
“Homeland,” Judy Henderson, Craig Fincannon (Location Casting), Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting) **
“Breaking Bad,” Sharon Bialy, Sherry Thomas, Rody Kent (Location Casting), Russell Scott (Associate), *
“Game of Thrones,” Nina Gold
“Mad Men,” Laura Schiff, Carrie Audino, Kendra Shay Clark (Associate)

Television Series Comedy
“Girls,” Jennifer Euston
“The Big C,” Bernard Telsey, Abbie Brady-Dalton (Associate)
“Modern Family,” Jeff Greenberg, Allen Hooper (Associate)
“New Girl,” Anya Colloff, Michael Nicolo
“Nurse Jackie,” Julie Tucker, Ross Meyerson

Television Movie or Mini Series
“Game Change,” David Rubin, Richard Hicks, Pat Moran (Location Casting), Kathleen Chopin (Location Casting), Anne Davison (Associate) **
“American Horror Story,” Robert J. Ulrich, Eric Dawson, Carol Kritzer, Eric Souliere (Associate)
“Birdsong,” Jina Jay, *
“Five,” Randi Hiller, Tamara-Lee Notcutt
“Hatfields & McCoys,” Fern Champion, Amy Hubbard (Location Casting)

Children’s Series
“Wizards of Waverly Place,” Ruth Lambert, Robert McGee **
“A.N.T. FARM,” Brandi Brice Pollock, Dana Gergely Bowling
“iCarly,” Krisha Bullock, Jennifer K.M. Treadwell (Associate)
“Shake It Up!,” Howard Meltzer, SuzAnne Goddard-Smythe
“Victorious,” Krisha Bullock, Jennifer K.M. Treadwell (Associate)

Television Animation
“Family Guy,” Linda Lamontagne **
“The Cleveland Show,” Robert McGee, Ruth Lambert
“Kung Fu Panda,” Meredith Layne
“The Penguins of Madagascar,” Sarah Noonan, Meredith Layne
“Robot Chicken,” Ivy Isenberg