Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Claire Foy and Chuck Lorre to be Honored at the CRITIC'S CHOICE AWARDS

Claire Foy and Chuck Lorre to be Honored at the CRITIC'S CHOICE AWARDS

Actress Claire Foy and producer Chuck Lorre will receive very special honors at the 24th annual CRITICS' CHOICE AWARDS gala, the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced today.

Also a CRITICS' CHOICE AWARDS nominee for Best Supporting Actress in "First Man," Foy will accept the #SeeHer Award. The creator of such acclaimed TV comedies as "The Big Bang Theory," "Mom," "Young Sheldon" and "The Kominsky Method" (which all received Critics' Choice Award nominations earlier this week), Lorre will receive the Critics' Choice Creative Achievement Award.

The star-studded CRITICS' CHOICE AWARDS will be broadcast live on The CW Network on Sunday, January 13th, from 7 - 10 p.m. ET (delayed PT).

The #SeeHer Award recognizes a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement - to push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of authentic portrayals of women across the entertainment landscape. #SeeHer is spearheaded by the ANA (Association of National Advertisers), the largest marketing and advertising association in the United States. The mission of #SeeHer is to accurately portray all women and girls in media so that by 2020, the 100th anniversary of women gaining the right to vote, they see themselves reflected as they truly are. Previous award recipients are Viola Davis and Gal Gadot.

"We are very honored to recognize this acclaimed actress with our third annual #SeeHer Award," said ANA CEO Bob Liodice. "Claire has delivered many powerful, compelling performances on TV and film, including The Crown, The Girl in the Spider's Web and First Man. Her portrayals of such strong female characters is an inspiration for our movement."

"It's wonderful to see Claire Foy receive this award," said Fiona Carter, chief brand officer, AT&T Communications. "When we shine a light on stories that ring true for all women, and celebrate the creators bringing them to life, we come a step closer to a world in which women are authentically portrayed in media and popular culture. It's why AT&T, as one of the largest advertisers in the country, is proud to support the #SeeHer movement."

The Critics' Choice Creative Achievement Award recognizes a body of work that stands out for its sustained excellence over a period of decades on programs that have delighted huge audiences with tremendous laughter and clever insights into the human condition. Chuck Lorre's creative achievements rank with greatest television producers of all time with an incredible string of hit sitcoms dating back to "Grace Under Fire," "Roseanne," "Dharma & Greg," "Mike & Molly," and "Two and a Half Men" that shows no sign of letting up.

"`The Big Bang Theory' has been called the most successful television comedy ever, so it seems like the perfect time to honor Chuck as that show gets ready to ride off into the sunset," said BFCA President Joey Berlin. "Thankfully, we still have 'Mom,' 'Young Sheldon,' and his latest gift to comedy lovers, `The Kominsky Method' going strong to help us get over the loss. For a quarter of a century Chuck has been keeping us in stitches with comedies of remarkable hilarity and consistency, delighting viewers and critics alike."

Claire Foy has a diverse and exceptional range of work across television, film and theater. In addition to "First Man," last fall Foy starred as Lisbeth Salander in Sony Pictures Entertainment's "The Girl in the Spider's Web." Foy was recently seen in Steven Soderbergh's psychological horror film "Unsane" as Sawyer Valentini. The entire film was shot on an iPhone 7, and received critical acclaim for both Foy's performance and for Soderbergh's fresh vision.

Prior to this, Foy was seen in season two of Netflix's critically acclaimed series "The Crown" about Britain's Royal Family. Starring in the much-coveted role of Queen Elizabeth II, her performance won her a Golden Globe Award, an Emmy and two Screen Actors Guild Awards, along with two British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Television Award nominations. Foy was also seen in "Breathe" alongside Andrew Garfield in October 2017, directed by Andy Serkis and written by William Nicholson - a remarkable story of Robin and Diana Cavendish, who navigate LIFE AFTER he is struck down with paralyzing polio.

Also well known for her incredible television roles, Foy has been on our small screens since she made a name for herself in the titular role of the critically acclaimed BBC adaptation "Little Dorrit." The drama won Outstanding Miniseries at the Primetime Emmy Awards in 2009, and was nominated for a Golden Globe Award for Best Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television. That same year, Foy's performance earned her a nomination for Best Actor (Female) at the Royal Television Society Awards.

Chuck Lorre co-created and serves as executive producer of the blockbuster comedy "The Big Bang Theory," the critically acclaimed comedy "Mom" and the acclaimed hit comedy "Young Sheldon," all for CBS, and he created/executive produces the new Netflix comedy "The Kominsky Method," which stars Michael Douglas and Alan Arkin. Lorre also co-created/executive produced the Netflix comedy "Disjointed," starring Academy Award® and Emmy® winner Kathy Bates. He previously was executive producer of the hit sitcom "Mike & Molly" and co-created/executive produced the long-running hit comedy "Two and a Half Men." Before that, he created hits such as "Cybill," "Dharma & Greg" and "Grace Under Fire," and also served as co-executive producer on "Roseanne." In 2009, Lorre received the NATPE Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award, was named Television Showman of the Year at the 46th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Ceremony and was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. In 2012, he was inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame, and in 2016, he was inducted into the NAB (National Association of Broadcasters) Hall of Fame.

In 2015, The Chuck Lorre Family Foundation (TCLFF) established "The Big Bang Theory" Scholarship Endowment at UCLA to support undergraduate students in need of financial aid who are pursuing their higher education in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). And in 2018, continuing its commitment to fund innovative efforts in STEM education, TCLFF announced the creation of a new grant program - THE YOUNG SHELDON STEM INITIATIVE - inspired by the hit comedy series "Young Sheldon." The program was created to foster excitement for learning in STEM fields, specifically in support of our nation's public schools, TEACHERS and students.

"Critics' Choice Awards" are bestowed annually by the BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today's film-going public. BTJA is the collective voice of journalists who regularly cover television for TV viewers, radio listeners and online audiences. Historically, the "Critics' Choice Awards" are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

The 24th annual CRITICS' CHOICE AWARDS show will be produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment. The BFCA and BTJA are represented by Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig and WME.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

From This Author Kaitlin Milligan