2017 Formula One Japanese Grand Prix Highlights NBC Sports' Motorsports Action

NBC Sports Group continues its coverage of the 2017 Formula One season with comprehensive live coverage of the Japanese Grand Prix, highlighted by race coverage on Sunday at 1 a.m. ET/Saturday at 10 p.m. PT on NBCSN. This week's motorsports coverage also features more than 10 hours of Mecum Auctions action coverage from Chicago, beginning today at 2 p.m. ET on NBCSN. In addition, NBC Sports Group will provide comprehensive coverage of this weekend's NASCAR XFINITY and Cup Series races from Charlotte

The Formula One Japanese Grand Prix returns to Suzuka Circuit this week as Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) continue their season-long duel atop the drivers' standings. Hamilton extended his lead to 34 points over Vettel with a second-place finish at last weekend's Malaysian Grand Prix. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) earned his first win of the season in Malaysia, and teammate Daniel Ricciardo finished third to round out the podium. Vettel, who finished fourth at Sepang, enters the weekend with four career first-place finishes in the Japanese Grand Prix, with his most recent win coming in 2013.

NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app will stream Practice 1 live tonight at 9 p.m. ET, followed by Practice 2 on Friday at 1 a.m. ET on NBCSN. NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app will live stream Practice 3 on Friday at 11 p.m. ET. Live qualifying will air on NBCSN on Saturday at 2 a.m. ET. Pre-race coverage kicks off on Sunday with F1 Countdown beginning at 12 a.m. ET/Saturday at 9 p.m. PT on NBCSN, followed by live race coverage beginning at 12:30 a.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT F1 EXTRA wraps up the day's events on NBCSN at 3 a.m. ET. NBCSN will air an encore presentation of the Japanese Grand Prix on Sunday night at 9 p.m. ET.

Leigh Diffey will call this weekend's action and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and Steve Matchett, an analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team. Will Buxton will serve as the on-site reporter at Suzuka.

2017 Formula One Driver Standings
Position Driver Team Points
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 281
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 247
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 222
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red BULL Racing Tag Heuer 177
5 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 138


Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk