Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on A RAISIN IN THE SUN 2014

Tony-Winning A RAISIN IN THE SUN Revival Recoups on Broadway!

Broadway's critically acclaimed production of Denzel Washington in Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun is celebrating a big week. Not only did it take home three 2014 Tony Awards (Best Revival of a Play, Best Director of a Play -- Kenny Leon, and Best Featured Actress in a Play -- Sophie Okonedo) on Sunday night, it has also recouped its entire capitalization. The production, which began previews Saturday, March 8, officially opened on Thursday, April 3 at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre (243 West 47 Street), where it will end its limited engagement run this Sunday, June 15.

A RAISIN IN THE SUN also stars LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Anika Noni Rose, Stephen McKinley Henderson, David Cromer, Jason Dirden, Sean Patrick Thomas, and Bryce Clyde Jenkins. Sophie Okonedo is appearing with the permission of Actors' Equity Association.

Originally produced in 1959, Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun was the first play written by an African American woman to be produced on Broadway, where it won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Play.

Set on Chicago's South Side, A Raisin in the Sun revolves around the divergent dreams and conflicts within three generations of the Younger family: son Walter Lee, his wife Ruth, his sister Beneatha, his son Travis and matriarch Lena, called Mama. When her deceased husband's money comes through, Mama dreams of moving to a new home and a better neighborhood in Chicago. Walter Lee, a chauffeur, has other plans: buying a liquor store and being his own man. Beneatha dreams of medical school. The tensions and prejudice they face form this seminal American drama.

The production has scenic design by Mark Thompson, costume design by Ann Roth, lighting design by Brian MacDevitt, sound design by Scott Lehrer, and music curation by Branford Marsalis.

A RAISIN IN THE SUN is produced by Scott Rudin, Roger Berlind, Eli Bush, Jon B. Platt, Scott M. Delman, Roy Furman, Stephanie P. McClelland, Ruth Hendel, Sonia Friedman/Tulchin Bartner, The Araca Group, Heni Koenigsberg, Daryl Roth, and Joan Raffe & Jhett Tolentino. Joey Parnes, S.D. Wagner and John Johnson are Executive Producers.

Photo Credit: Brigitte Lacombe

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You