Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

Tony Awards Administration Committee Holds Final Eligibility Meeting Apr. 27


BroadwayWorld has confirmed that The Tony Awards Administration Committee will hold its final meeting of the 2011-2012 season on Friday, April 27 to determine final Tony Award eligibility rulings for the recently opened Broadway productions.

As previously announced, the last rulings included:

David Alan Grier will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical category for his performance in The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess.

Cynthia Nixon will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play category for her performance in Wit.

Carla Gugino and Jim Dale will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress/Actor in a Featured Role in a Play categories respectively, for their performances in The Road to Mecca. 

The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. The two organizations have jointly administered the Tonys since 1967, the year of the first Tony telecast. Responsibility for the governance and administration of the awards is vested in two committees: The Tony Awards Management Committee and The Tony Awards Administration Committee, which is repsonible for determining Tony eligibility.

The Tony Awards Management Committee is made up of representatives of the League and the Wing. It oversees the Tony Awards, with emphasis on the television broadcast.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee is comprised of 24 members, of whom 10 are designated by the Wing, 10 by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers. This committee determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...