Photo Flash: Perez Hilton Visits Cast of PIECE OF MY HEART

By: Aug. 06, 2014
Get Show Info Info

Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story, the crowd-pleasing new musical based on the life and songs of legendary songwriter Bert Berns, recently extended its current run two extra weeks, and play its final performance on Sunday, September 14. The rock musical began performances on June 25, and officially opened on Monday, July 21, 2014. With a book by Daniel Goldfarb, direction and choreography by Denis Jones, and featuring the stirring songbook of songwriter/producer Bert Berns, Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story, plays at The Irene Diamond Stage at The Pershing Square Signature Center (480 West 42nd St).

Pop culture icon Perez Hilton just stopped by the show and BroadwayWorld brings you photos from backstage below!

Bert Berns, whose life is also the subject of the just-released book Here Comes the Night, was born in New York in 1929 and died tragically of a heart attack at just 38 years of age. But in his short career, Berns left an indelible mark on popular music; he made fifty-one pop chart singles in seven years and became one of the most successful songwriters of the 1960s. Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story tells his remarkable story, once dubbed by Rolling Stone "one of the great untold stories of rock and roll," through his hit songs, which include "Twist and Shout," "Tell Him," "I Want Candy," "Hang On Sloopy," "Cry Baby," "Piece of My Heart," and many more.

The full cast of Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story includes Zak Resnick as Bert Berns, Drama Desk Award nominee Leslie Kritzer as Jessie, Theatre World Award-winner Linda Hart as Ilene, Joseph Siravo as Wazzel, Tony Award nominee de'Adre Aziza as Candace, Derrick Baskin as Hoagy, Bryan Fenkart as Young Wazzel, Teal Wicks as Young Ilene, and Mark Zeisler as Jerry Wexler, with an ensemble that includes Carleigh Bettiol, Teresa Gattison,Shonica Gooden, Sydney James Harcourt, Jessica McRoberts, Ralph Meitzler, Harris Milgrim, Michael Millan,Heather Parcells, Gabrielle Ruiz, and Amos Wolff.