Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photos: Inside Dramatists Guild of America's Annual Awards Ceremony with Stephen Schwartz, Christopher Durang & More

The Dramatists Guild of America held their annual awards ceremony last night at The Lambs Club in New York. The ceremony was hosted by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson Lopez. Check out a look back at the festivities below!

Doug Wright presented the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition to Trey Anastasio and Amanda Green for the score to Hands on a Hardbody; Polly Pen presented the Flora Roberts Award to Arthur Kopit; Francine Volpe presented the Lanford Wilson Award to Mike Lew; Stephen Karam presented the Hull-Warriner Award to Christopher Durang for his play, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike; Gretchen Cryer and Jeffrey Lyons accepted the Madge Evans & Sidney Kingsley Awards on behalf of Lisa Kron and Viola Davis; and Daniel Goldfarb presented the Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award to John Guare.

John Weidman, President of the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund, presented the first ever DLDF Defender Award to Larissa Mark, a high school senior from Trumbull, CT who successfully organized her community in opposition to her school''s sudden cancellation of their production of Rent, ultimately forcing the production''s reinstatement. The new award from the DLDF honors Ms. Mark''s work in support of free expression in the dramatic arts.

The Frederick Loewe Award, given by the Frederick Loewe Foundation and presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to a composer, recognizes achievement in a theatrical score presented in New York during the previous theatrical season. Past winners include Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa, Robert Lopez, Trey Parker & Matt Stone, John Kander, Tom Kitt, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Scott Frankel.

The Flora Roberts Award, administered by the Dramatists Guild Fund, is presented to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theater and to encourage the continuation of that work. Previous recipients include Philip Kan Gotanda, Christopher Durang, Michael Weller, Polly Pen, Craig Lucas, Ed Bullins, Adrienne Kennedy and Tina Howe.

The Lanford Wilson Award was established by the estate of Lanford Wilson and is presented by the Dramatists Guild Council to a dramatist based primarily on their work as an early career playwright. The recipient of last year''s first annual Lanford Wilson Award was Francine Volpe.

The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by dramatists to dramatists; it is presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious, or social mores of the times. Previous winners include Stephen Karam, Lynn Nottage, David Ives, Tracy Letts, Steven Sater & Duncan Sheik, Marsha Norman and Dael Orlandersmith.

The Madge Evans & Sidney Kingsley Awards, presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Fund, celebrate excellence in the theater and are given respectively to a worthy stage actress and a playwright who are in mid-career. Previous recipients include Lois Smith, Marsha Norman, Linda Lavin, Laura Linney, Lynn Nottage, John Patrick Shanley, Judith Ivey, and Terrence McNally.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Dramatists Guild Council in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatrical writing. Previous recipients include Micki Grant, Paula Vogel, Terrence McNally, Sheldon Harnick & Jerry Bock, Lanford Wilson, Joseph Stein, Horton Foote, August Wilson, Stephen Sondheim, Edward Albee and Arthur Miller.

Photo Credit: Douglas Gorenstein

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More
Branded Broadway Merch

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You