Photo Coverage: The Drama League Awards 2012 - The Ladies

By: May. 19, 2012
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The Drama League announced yesterday, May 18, the winners for the 78th Annual Drama League Awards at the Marriott Marquis Times Square. BroadwayWorld was there and brings you photos of the lovely ladies at the ceremony, including Cynthia Nixon, Linda Lavin, Audra McDonald, Angela Lansbury, Stockard Channing, Celia Keenan-Bolger, RoseMary Harris, Cristin Milioti, Donna Murphy, Elena Roger and more!

The winners: Distinguished Play, Other Desert Cities, presented by Philip Seymour Hoffman; Distinguished Revival of a Play, Death of a Salesman, presented by Christian Borle; Distinguished Production of a Musical, Once, presented by Cynthia Nixon; Distinguished Revival of a Musical, Follies, presented by Kelli O’Hara; and Distinguished Performance, Audra McDonald, presented by John Lithgow at a star-studded luncheon ceremony hosted by Stockard Channing (Other Desert Cities) and John Larroquette (Gore Vidal’s The Best Man).

The Drama League gathered together a team of Broadway’s best to serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for the 78TH Annual Drama League Awards that included Nina Arianda, RoseMary Harris, Christine Lahti, Linda Lavin, Judith Light, Audra McDonald, Cynthia Nixon and more, also featured below!

The Drama League Awards honor distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements in musical theatre and directing. First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions. 2012 Nominees were selected from over 170 productions.

For the full list of winners, click here, and to see the gentlemen in attendance at the awards, follow this link!