Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

Photo Coverage: GLAAD Media Awards

On March 26th, Whoopi Goldberg, Julianne Moore, Jennifer Hudson and John Waters were among the dozens of celebrities who joined the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) as it honored Patti LaBelle, Tom Ford, Kate Clinton and the best in film, television and journalism last night at the 18th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor mainstream media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives.

At the ceremony, Jennifer Hudson presented the Excellence in Media Award to Patti LaBelle in recognition of LaBelle's strong support of full equality for the LGBT community and her work to raise awareness about HIV/AIDS.  Also at the event, Julianne Moore presented the Vito Russo Award to fashion designer Tom Ford.  The Vito Russo Award is presented to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for the LGBT community.  Cynthia Nixon presented the Pioneer Award to comedian Kate Clinton.  In 2006, Clinton celebrated her twenty-fifth year as an openly lesbian humorist and social commentator. Rosie O'Donnell and director Shari Cookson accepted the award for Outstanding Documentary for All Aboard! Rosie's Family Cruise. 

Actress and comedian Whoopi Goldberg opened the show, and comedian Judy Gold performed for the capacity audience of 1,600.  Other guests and presenters at the event included: John Waters; Billie Jean King; Phil Donahue; Kelli Carpenter O'Donnell; Urvashi Vaid; Stephanie March; Ted Allen, Kyan Douglas, Thom Filicia, Carson Kressley ("Queer Eye for the Straight Guy"); Heather Matarazzo; Hilary Duff; Dana Delany; Eden Riegel, Jeffrey Carlson ("All My Children"); Van Hansis, Jennifer Landon, Jake Silbermann (As the World Turns); B.D. Wong; Paul Dawson, PJ DeBoy (Shortbus); Sarah Wynter; Tony Goldwyn; the Rev. Jay Bakker; Jackie Warner, Rebecca Cardon; Lee Rose; Melrose Bickerstaff; Malan Breton; Grant James Varjas; writer, activist Keith Boykin; Nathan Hale Williams; musician Willie Colon; comedian Jim David; singer Christine Martucci; and former NBA player John Amaechi.  Guests at the after-party enjoyed the music of renowned DJ Junior Vasquez.

For the third consecutive year, the GLAAD Media Awards will be televised on Logo, MTV Networks' cable channel for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender viewers and their allies.  The Logo airdate for the 18th Annual GLAAD Media Awards is April 21, 2007, with subsequent airings.

Visit this link for a complete list of GLAAD Award-winners.

Nominee/Presenter Eden Riegel 

Nominee/Presenter Jeffrey Carlson

Jeffrey Carlson and Eden Riegel

Urvashi Vaid and Honoree Kate Clinton

Nominee Grant James Varjas

NBA Player Presenter John Amaechi

Singer-Songwriter Christine Martucci and Guest

Lauren Zalaznick (President of Bravo TV) and Nominee Tim Gunn

Nominee Malan Brenton and Melrose Bickerstaff

Melrose Bickerstaff

Jake Silberman, Nominee Jennifer Landon and Nominee Van Hansis

Rebecca Cardon

Nominee/Presenter Stephanie March

Hal Rubenstein

Keith Boykin and Nathan Hale Williams

Phillip Block

Nominee/Performer Judy Gold

Nominee PJ DeBoy, Howard Gertler and Nominee Paul Dawson

Nominee Kelli O'Donnell and Nominee Rosie O'Donnell

Jim David and Nominee Douglas Carter Beane

Nominee Carson Kressley, Nominee Ted Allen, Nominee Thom Filicia and Nominee Kyan Douglas

Sara Wynter

Honoree Patti LaBelle

Honoree Patti LaBelle

Honoree Tom Ford

Presenter Dana Delany

Nominee Wash Westmoreland, Nominee Richard Glatzer and Nominee/Presenter Jesse Garcia

Presenter Hilary Duff

Tony Goldwyn

Related Articles

From This Author Linda Lenzi

Before you go...