Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

Outer Critics Circle Announces 2004-05 Award Nominees

Outer Critics Circle, the organization of writers and commentators for all media covering New York theatre announced its nominees for the 2004-05 season in 22 categories. Based on a recommendation by the OCC Executive Committee, a Special Achievement Award will be given to Marjorie Gunner for serving 25 years as President of the Outer Critics Circle. A reception honoring the nominees will be: Tuesday, April 26th (5PM) at Nino's Tuscany Restaurant (117 W 58th Street).

This season is the 55th anniversary of the Outer Critics Circle, an association with members affiliated with more than ninety newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, and theatre publications in America and abroad. The winners of the following categories will be announced on Monday, May 9th and the annual awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 26th (4PM) at the legendary Sardi's Restaurant.

Outstanding Broadway Play
Brooklyn Boy
Gem of the Ocean
The Pillowman

Outstanding Broadway Musical
All Shook Up
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
The Light in the Piazza
Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play
Fat Pig
Going St. Ives
Moonlight and Magnolias
String of Pearls

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical
Altar Boyz
Dessa Rose
Lone Star Love

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Glengarry Glen Ross
A Streetcar Named Desire
Twelve Angry Men
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
La Cage aux Folles
Pacific Overtures
Shockheaded Peter
Sweet Charity

Oustanding Direction of a Play
John Crowley The Pillowman
Doug Hughes Doubt
Joe Mantello Glengarry Glen Ross
Anthony Page Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Dan Wackerman Counsellor-at-Law

Outstanding Direction of a Musical
Walter Bobbie - Sweet Charity
Mike Nichols - Monty Python's Spamalot
Adrian Noble - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Jack O'Brien - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Bartlett Sher - The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Choreography
Wayne Cilento - Sweet Charity
Gillian Lynne - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Jerry Mitchell - La Cage aux Folles
Jerry Mitchell - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Casey Nicholaw - Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Set Design
Robert Brill - A Streetcar Named Desire
Tim Hatley - Monty Python's Spamalot
Scott Pask - The Pillowman
Anthony Ward - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Michael Yeargan - The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Costume Design
Tim Hatley - Monty Python's Spamalot
Junko Koshino - Pacific Overtures
William Ivey Long - La Cage aux Folles
Anthony Ward - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Catherine Zuber - The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind - The Light in the Piazza
Mark Henderson - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Donald Holder - Gem of the Ocean
Brian MacDevitt - The Pillowman
Hugh Vanstone - Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Alan Alda - Glengarry Glen Ross
Billy Crudup - The Pillowman
James Earl Jones - On Golden Pond
Brían F. O'Byrne - Doubt
John Rubinstein - Counsellor-at-Law

Outstanding Actress in a Play
L. Scott Caldwell - Going to St. Ives
Cherry Jones - Doubt
Laura Linney - Sight Unseen
Natasha Richardson - A Streetcar Named Desire
Kathleen Turner - Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Norbert Leo Butz - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Tim Curry - Monty Python's Spamalot
Raúl Esparza - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Cheyenne Jackson - All Shook Up
Denis O'Hare - Sweet Charity

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Victoria Clark - The Light in the Piazza
Erin Dilly - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Sutton Foster - Little Women the Musical
Jenn Gambatese - All Shook Up
Sherie Rene Scott - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Chris Bauer - A Streetcar Named Desire
Philip Bosco - Twelve Angry Men
Larry Bryggman - Romance
Jeff Goldblum - The Pillowman
David Harbour - Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Ashlie Atkinson - Fat Pig
Heather Goldenhersh - Doubt
Carla Gugino - After the Fall
Adriane Lenox - Doubt
Amy Ryan - A Streetcar Named Desire

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Michael Berresse - The Light in the Piazza
Dan Fogler - The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Mark Harelik - The Light in the Piazza
Marc Kudisch - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Matthew Morrison - The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Sarah Uriarte Berry - The Light in the Piazza
Joanna Gleason - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Jan Maxwell - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Kelli O'Hara - The Light in the Piazza
Sara Ramirez - Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Solo Performance
Gareth Armstrong - Shylock
Mario Cantone - Laugh Whore
Billy Crystal - 700 Sundays
Heather Raffo - Nine Parts of Desire
Mercedes Ruehl - Woman Before a Glass

John Gassner Award
(Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright)
David Folwell - Boise
Gina Gionfriddo - After Ashley
Ron Hutchinson - Moonlight and Magnolias

Presented for 25 Years of Service as President of the Outer Critics Circle
Marjorie Gunner

Nominations Talley for 3 or more:
A Streetcar Named Desire - 5
All Shook Up - 3
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang - 10
Counsellor-at-Law - 3
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels - 6
Doubt - 6
Glengarry Glen Ross - 3
La Cage aux Folles - 3
Monty Python's Spamalot - 8
Sweet Charity - 4
The Light in the Piazza - 11
The Pillowman - 6
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? - 4

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Living Room Concert: Lin-Manuel Miranda Sings HAMILTON
Today we've got Lin-Manuel Miranda singing from HAMILTON!... (read more)

VIDEO: Ben Platt and the Cast of DEAR EVAN HANSEN Perform 'You Will Be Found' on James Corden's HOMEFEST
Last night, CBS presented HOMEFEST: James Corden's LATE LATE SHOW SPECIAL, hosted by James Corden. One of the performers was Ben Platt, who joined the... (read more)

Andrew Lloyd Webber Musicals Will Stream Online Free; Catch JOSEPH... This Friday, April 3
Andrew Lloyd Webber's musicals will be streamed online for free!... (read more)

VIDEO: West End PHANTOM Orchestra Records 'All I Ask Of You' Response to Andrew Lloyd Webber
Andrew Lloyd Webber has been bringing beautiful music to us all from his home during these times of social distancing. ... (read more)

Nick Cordero is in the ICU, May be Positive for COVID-19
Nick Cordero is currently in the ICU, with what was thought to be pneumonia, but may be COVID-19.... (read more)

Social: Lin-Manuel Miranda, Tom Hanks and More Pay Tribute to Adam Schlesinger
The entertainment community is bereft at the loss of Emmy and Grammy winner and Oscar nominee Adam Schlesinger, who passed away today from coronavirus... (read more)