Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Lynn Nottage, Mandy Patinkin, and More Will Be Inducted Into the Theater Hall of Fame

Lynn Nottage, Mandy Patinkin, and More Will Be Inducted Into the Theater Hall of Fame

The inductees also include Christine Ebersole, Frank Galati, Bill Irwin, Abe Jacob, Suzan-Lori Parks, and Ntozake Shange.

The Theater Hall of Fame has announced its 2022 inductees. The 2022 Gala Induction and Dinner will be held on Monday, November 14, 2022 at 7:00 PM at The Gershwin Theatre in New York City.

The 2022 Inductees are

Christine Ebersole - actor

Frank Galati - director

Bill Irwin - actor/writer

Abe Jacob - actor/sound designer

Lynn Nottage - playwright

Suzan-Lori Parks - playwright

Mandy Patinkin - actor

Ntozake Shange - playwright

The Theater Hall of Fame, on Broadway at the Gershwin Theatre, was founded in 1970 by Earl Blackwell, James M. Nederlander, Gerard Oestreicher and L. Arnold Weissberger to honor Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater. The mission is to preserve past theater history, honor the present theater professionals, and encourage emerging artists of the American Theater.

To be eligible for induction, the theater professional must have given 25 years distinguished service to the American Theater and, at least, five major production credits on Broadway. The annual ballot is voted upon by over 275 members of the Theater Hall of Fame and American drama critics. There are 10 categories and over 50 nominees from which to vote. The final eight nominees receiving the most votes are ratified for the annual induction.

The Theater Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization and U.S. registered trademark. It is the only nationally recognized Hall of Fame honoring Lifetime Achievement in the American theater. It is funded by individual contributions, private foundations as well as event ticket and journal sales. Mr. Terry Hodge Taylor is Executive Producer.

Learn more at

Related Stories

More Hot Stories For You

The Theatre Centre Unveils 22/23 Programme Featuring Work From Ian Kamau And Journalist Alanna Mitchell
August 10, 2022

The Theatre Centre welcomed audiences, artists and neighbours to the venue for a community meal celebrating its 22/23 programming year. In addition to announcing works on offer throughout the year — Rimah Jabr's Broken Shapes, Sea Sick by Alanna Mitchell, the third edition of Comedy is Art, and Ian Kamau's Loss — artist-podcaster Falen Johnson and artist Lorena Torres Loaiza were presented with the 2022 Patrick Conner Award and Ticket respectively. 

NYC Musicians' Union Local 802 Endorses Jerry Nadler For Congress
August 10, 2022

The NYC musicians' union (AFM Local 802) announces its endorsement of Jerry Nadler for Congress in U.S. District 12. 

AFM Local 802 and IATSE Local 1 Endorse Carlina Rivera For Congress
August 10, 2022

The NYC musicians' union (AFM Local 802) and the NYC stagehands' union (IATSE Local 1) jointly announce their endorsement of Carlina Rivera for Congress in U.S. District 10. 

Neil DeGrasse Tyson, THE MAGIC FLUTE, and WEST SIDE STORY On Sale at Dr. Phillips Center This Friday
August 10, 2022

The Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts is on sale this Friday, August 12, with new shows including an illustrated talk with Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, a presentation of Mozart's The Magic Flute by Opera Orlando and West Side Story from Celebration Theatre Co. 

JACK Announces Open Call For Second Annual Performance Festival RADICAL ACTS
August 10, 2022

JACK invites artists to share their interpretation of radical in the second year of their daring performance festival Radical Acts.