Get to Know the Tony Nominators

There are 45 people currently on the nominator list for Broadway's biggest award.

By: Mar. 27, 2023
Click Here for More on Industry Trends Weekly
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

This time of year, most know the most important people in the industry are sadly not anyone putting on a show, but rather the Tony nominators. Usually, this is the time that many selected nominators start dropping out, typically because of involvement in an eligible production or failure to see all eligible productions. This season, we've so far had very few recusals, so as of now there is a pretty full slate.

Undoubtedly, there will be several more recusals, but let's get to know the folks there now, which include several new names.

Warren Adams is a writer, choreographer, director and producer who has Broadway and off-Broadway credits.

Emily Altman is the President of The Frederick Loewe Foundation and a mediator and arbitrator.

Becky Ann Baker is an actress on both stage and screen.

Pun Bandhu is an actor and producer whose Broadway producing credits include BEETLEJUICE and SPRING AWAKENING.

Brenda Braxton is an actress and the recipient of a Tony nomination herself.

Christopher Burney is the former Artistic Director of New York Stage and Film. He was also previously Artistic Producer of Second Stage.

Kathleen Chalfant is an actress who has received a Tony nomination and Drama Desk Award.

Eisa Davis is an actress, writer and singer-songwriter. On Broadway she appeared in PASSING STRANGE.

Carmel Dean is a composer, arranger, orchestrator and music director. Dean is credited with "Additional Arrangements" for the current FUNNY GIRL.

Kristoffer Diaz is a playwright whose work, including THE ELABORATE ENTRANCE OF CHAD DEITY, has been seen off-Broadway.

Jerry Dixon is an actor and director who last appeared on Broadway in IF/THEN.

Dionne Figgins is Artistic Director of Ballet Tech, a choreographer and an actress, last appearing on Broadway in MOTOWN.

Kamilah Forbes is the Executive Producer at the Apollo; prior to that she assistant and associate directed a handful of Broadway shows.

Scott Frankel is a composer, Tony-nominated for his GREY GARDENS score.

ML Geiger is a lighting designer whose credits include THE CONSTANT WIFE on Broadway

Jessica Hagedorn is a playwright, poet and multimedia performance artist.

Michael R. Jackson's A STRANGE LOOP won a Tony last year and he also won for writing its libretto.

Raja Feather Kelly choreographed A STRANGE LOOP.

John Kilgore is a sound designer with nine Broadway credits.

Kathy Landau is Executive Director of Symphony Space.

Andrea Lauer is a costume designer with Broadway credits.

Zhailon Levingston directed CHICKEN & BISCUITS on Broadway.

Jose Llana is a veteran performer soon to be seen on Broadway in HERE LIES LOVE.

Priscilla Lopez is an actress who won a Tony for A DAY IN HOLLYWOOD/A NIGHT IN THE UKRAINE.

John Mauceri is a conductor and music director.

Jess McLeod is a director and social justice advocate.

James C. Nicola is the former Artistic Director of New York Theatre Workshop.

Antoinette Nwandu wrote PASS OVER.

Peter Parnell is a playwright and librettist who wrote the book for the 2011 revival of ON A CLEAR DAY YOU CAN SEE FOREVER.

Ralph Peña is Artistic Director of the Ma-Yi Theater Company.

Nancy Piccione is a retired casting director.

Bill Rauch is a former artistic director of Oregon Shakespeare Festival and current artistic director at the performing arts center at World Trade Center.

Rosalba Rolón is an actress and the founder and Artistic Director of Pregones Theater.

Daphne Rubin-Vega is a performer Tony-nominated for her work in RENT and ANNA IN THE TROPICS.

Susan Sampliner is a retired company manager.

Dick Scanlan is a three-time Tony-nominated librettist and lyricist.

Kimberly Senior is a director previously represented on Broadway by DISGRACED.

Rachel Sheinkin is a playwright and librettist who won the Tony for her book for THE 25TH ANNUAL PUTNAM COUNTY SPELLING BEE.

Devario Simmons is a costume designer who was represented on Broadway by THOUGHTS OF A COLORED MAN.

Natasha Sinha is Associate Artistic Director of Playwrights Horizons.

Michael Stotts is a producer and Executive Director of Paper Mill Playhouse.

Reggie Van Lee is Partner at Carlyle investment firm and an arts patron.

Michael Benjamin Washington is a performer that can currently be seen on TV on AMERICAN AUTO and has three Broadway credits.

Ben Wexler is a songwriter who was founding artistic director of the Broadway Advocacy Coalition.

Tracey Scott Wilson is a playwright and writer and producer for television and film.