Christine Andreas, Emily Skinner & More Set for BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1961, 3/11

Christine Andreas, Emily Skinner & More Set for BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1961, 3/11

Two-time Tony Nominee Christine Andreas, Tony Nominee Emily Skinner, Drama Desk Nominees Kerry O'Malley and Jeffry Denman, and two-time Nightlife Award Winner Scott Coulter will star in The Broadway Musicals of 1961 at Town Hall on Monday, March 11th at 8 PM. The critically-acclaimed new Broadway by the Year Chorus will join them in performing songs from Carnival, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Subways Are For Sleeping, Sail Away, Milk and Honey, and more! The concert will be directed and choreographed by Jeffry Denman; the Broadway by the Year Chorus is under the direction of Scott Coulter; musical direction will be by Ross Patterson. The show, as always, will be written and hosted by series creator Scott Siegel.

In a statement, Scott Siegel said, "our sensational stars and the great songs of 1961 from shows like Carnival and How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying, makes for a truly exciting concert. And I'm thrilled we will have the Broadway by the Year Chorus back because having them gives our show a unique, dynamic quality. Between the terrific Broadway dance we've come to expect from Jeffry Denman's exquisite choreography and the ever-building, expanding cast, I expect this will be a big, bold show. Personally, I can't wait to see the musical theater fireworks that will explode on the Town Hall stage come March 11th."

Tickets are $55, $50 and $45, on sale through, (800) 982-2787, or The Town Hall Box Office (123 West 43 Street) between noon and 6 PM (except Sundays) at 212-840-2824.

In its 13th year, this critically-acclaimed series has blossomed from an idea into what Show Business Weekly deems, " invaluable and entertaining jewel in the cabaret crown of New York." The New York Times has called it, "Witty, breezily paced. . .informative. . .valuable. . .the right perspective of lighthearted nostalgia... a reasonably priced alternative to City Center's Encore Series."

Author/critic Scott Siegel created the series for The Town Hall, which he writes and hosts. Siegel takes audiences of all ages on a musical tour of the Great White Way, offering an entertaining verbal account of Broadway's history. Each evening celebrates the songs from Broadway shows of a selected year, sung by a cast of talented cabaret and Broadway performers. This marvelous program not only highlights favorite show-stopping numbers, it also features lesser-known gems. Past stars include: Sutton Foster, Ann Harada, Cheyenne Jackson, Brian d'Arcy James, Marc Kudish, Tonya Pinkins, Elizabeth Stanley, and many more!

Built in 1921 by a group of suffragettes, The Town Hall began as a lecture hall and public debate forum and grew to be a landmark institution for arts, culture and education. Over the decades, Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger, Billie Holiday, Igor Stravinsky, Bob Dylan and MiLes Davis have graced the stage. Today the Hall boasts the hottest acts in rock, pop, folk, cabaret, world music, comedy and dance, including Elvis Costello, Nick Offerman, Rodriguez, Pat Metheny, Norah Jones, Brandi Carlile, Joe Jackson, Pink Martini, Regina Spektor, Bryan Adams, Lang Lang and Dawn Upshaw. For over twenty-five years, The Town Hall has hosted live broadcasts of Garrison Keillor's Prairie Home Companion, and produced a number of new and critically acclaimed musical series, including the Century of Change, Not Just Jazz, Broadway by the Year, Broadway Cabaret Festival and the Spring Series.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...