BWW TV: On the Red Carpet at the 2013 Lortel Awards- Chatting with the Nominees!

The 2013 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were handed on Sunday night to recipients in 14 categories and 4 special honors were bestowed. The Lortel Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball Center hosted by acclaimed stage and screen actors Aasif Mandvi and Maura Tierney. This year's event once again benefited The Actors Fund. CLICK HERE for a full list of winners.

BroadwayWorld's Richard Ridge was on the red carpet for the big night to chat with the presenters and nominees and you can check out what they had to say on the big night below!

Award presenters this year included some of the biggest and brightest stars from stage and screen, including: Leslie Bibb, Ari Brand, Celina Carvajal, Anna Chlumsky, Ben Foster, Jake Gyllenhaal, Jeremy Jordan, Richard Kind, Louisa Krause, Christopher Lloyd, Zosia Mamet, Lindsay Mendez, David Morse, Cynthia Nixon, Leslie Odom, Jr., Hettienne Park, David Hyde Pierce, Martha Plimpton, Rain Pryor, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, John Slattery, Rich Sommer, Matthew James Thomas, Fred Weller and Jennifer Westfeldt.

The Off-Broadway League's Lortel Awards Producing & Administration Committee (Terry Byrne, Denise Cooper, Margaret Cotter, George Forbes, Melanie Herman, Catherine Russell and Steven Showalter) produces the Lortel Awards Ceremony. Acclaimed writer and director Michael Heitzman returned to direct the Lortel Awards for the fourth consecutive year. The Lucille Lortel Awards is produced by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.

Click Here to Play the Video!play



THE LITTLE MERMAID Brings in $125M as of Friday

The Little Mermaid, which already took in $10.3 million in previews, made $38 million on opening day Friday, May 26th, bringing the 3-day total to $105M and the 4-day total to $125M in its first week of release.


The Thanksgiving Play stars D'Arcy Carden and Chris Sullivan joined Lin-Manuel Miranda outside the Richard Rodgers Theatre today to welcome book writer Robert Horn and the Tony-nominated cast of Shucked for a special performance.

Review Roundup: PRIMARY TRUST By Eboni Booth Opens Off-Broadway

Reviews are in for the Roundabout Theatre Company production of Primary Trust by Eboni Booth, directed by Knud Adams tonight!

Video: SOME LIKE IT HOT Star J.Harrison Ghee Performs 'You Coulda Knocked Me Over With A Feather' At Today's HAM4HAM

Leopoldstadt stars Brandon Uranowitz and Joshua Malina joined Lin-Manuel Miranda outside the Richard Rodgers Theatre today to welcome Tony-nominees J. Harrison Ghee, Marc Shaiman, and the ensemble of Some Like It Hot for another return engagement of the outdoor mini-concert series, Ham4Ham!



Recommended For You