Adam Gwon and Sarah Hammond's STRING Wins 2015 Richard Rodgers Award

By: Feb. 06, 2015
Click Here for More on 2023 AWARDS SEASON

The winner of the 2015 Richard Rodgers Award for Musical Theater was announced earlier this week by the American Academy of Arts and Letters, which administers the Rodgers Awards: String, by Adam Gwon and Sarah Hammond. The show was awarded a Studio Production.

String is a modern-day twist on the story of the three Greek Fates: Atropos, Lachesis, and Clotho. Atropos, a workaholic goddess, gets tangled up with a security guard in the basement of the tallest building in the world. One mistake leads to another (a lost pair of scissors, a kiss, a stolen string) and soon, Atropos, the oldest Fate, breaks her own rules to offer immortality to an ordinary man.

The intent of the Richard Rodgers Award is to nurture talented composers and playwrights by enabling their musicals to be produced in New York City. Former award recipients include Maury Yeston, Nine; Jonathan Larson, Rent; Julie Taymor and Elliot Goldenthal, Juan Darien; Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Lucky Stiff; Jeanine Tesori and Brian Crawley, Violet; and Scott Frankel, Michael Korie and Doug Wright, Grey Gardens.

This year's jury included Tania Leon (chair), Lynn Ahrens, Sheldon Harnick, Richard Maltby, Jr., Jeanine Tesori, and John Weidman.

Richard Rodgers, elected to the Academy in 1955, endowed these awards in 1978. The awards provide financial support for productions, studio productions, and staged readings of original musicals, by nonprofit theaters in New York City. The Richard Rodgers Awards are the Academy's only awards for which applications are accepted. Application forms for the Richard Rodgers Awards may be downloaded from


ADAM GWON (music and lyrics) is a composer and lyricist whose musicals Ordinary Days, Cloudlands, and The Boy Detective Fails have been produced at Roundabout Theatre Company, South Coast Repertory, Signature Theatre, and internationally, including London's West End. His songs have been performed at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, and the Kennedy Center, by such luminaries as Audra McDonald and Kelli O'hara. Gwon's honors include the Kleban, Ebb, and Loewe Awards, Second Stage Theatre's Donna Perret Rosen Award, Weston Playhouse's New Musical Award, the ASCAP Harold Adamson Award, and the MAC John Wallowitch Award. Adam has been a fellow at the MacDowell Colony and the Dramatists Guild, and is a three-time alum of NAMT's Festival of New Musicals. Recordings include Ordinary Days (Ghostlight Records), Audra McDonald's Go Back Home (Nonesuch), Over the Moon: The Broadway Lullaby Project.

SARAH HAMMOND (book) is a Brooklyn-based playwright and librettist, originally from South Carolina. She's an alum of New Dramatists, and a new member of Ars Nova's Uncharted, where she will develop a musical with Will Aronson. Her musicals are Barefoot Persephone (with Cheeyoung Kim) and String (with Adam Gwon). String has been presented at the O'Neill Music Theatre Festival, NAMT '14, and the inaugural Oscar Hammerstein Festival at the Bucks County Playhouse, and has won a New Dramatists' Loewe Award and the Weston Play House New Musical Award. Her playwriting honors include the Actors Theatre of Louisville's Heidemann Award; a commission from South Coast Rep, a residency at the Royal National Theatre in London, New Dramatists' Lippman Award, productions at Trustus and the Summer Play Festival at the Public, and readings at BAPF, Geva, and Williamstown.

Photo Credit: Ric Kallaher


Video: Talking Tonys with the Nominees from COST OF LIVING Photo
Video: Talking Tonys with the Nominees from COST OF LIVING

Though Cost of Living played its final Broadway performance over seven months ago, the Pulitzer Prize-winning play certainly was not forgotten by the nominating committee of the Tony Awards. It was nominated for five awards, three of which for its stars- Katy Sullivan, Kara Young, and David Zayas.

Julianne Hough & Skylar Astin to Host The Tony Awards: Act One Photo
Julianne Hough & Skylar Astin to Host The Tony Awards: Act One

Hough, star of last season’s hit Broadway play “POTUS,” and Astin, who originated the role of Georg in the Tony and GRAMMY Award-winning musical “Spring Awakening,” will kick off Broadway’s biggest night with the presentation of the first round of Tony Awards during the exciting pre-show telecast.

How/When/Where to Watch the 2023 Tony Awards and Other Questions Answered! Photo
How/When/Where to Watch the 2023 Tony Awards and Other Questions Answered!

In just days, on June 11, The 76th Annual Tony Awards make their debut at the United Palace to celebrate the best of Broadway for the 2022/23 theatre season. Need a refresher on how to watch and when? We've got you covered!

Download Printable Ballot for the 2023 Tony Awards Photo
Download Printable Ballot for the 2023 Tony Awards

If you're having a Tonys party (or just celebrating by yourself) you'll need a Tony Awards ballot to fill out and challenge your friends. BroadwayWorld has got you covered. Make your predictions and cast your ballot today!



Recommended For You