$25 Student Rush Tickets Available for Fred & Adele Astaire Awards Tonight, 6/4


Producer Patricia Watt has announced that $25 Student Rush tickets will be available at the Skirball Center for the Performing at New York University tonight, June 4th at 7:00pm one half hour before curtain time of the 30th Fred & Adele Astaire Awards at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at New York University.

In addition to honoring excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and in Film, the 30th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awardswill honor Liza Minnelli with its Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award. Liza Minnelli is the winner of four Tony Awards, an Oscar, a special "Legends" Grammy,two Golden Globe Awards and an Emmy and is one of the entertainment world's consummate performers.

Among the nominees confirmed to appear are: Matthew Broderick, Kathleen Marshall, Kelli O’Hara, Leslie Odom, Jr, Rob Ashford, Christopher Gatelli, Patti Murin, Jason Tam, Serjio Trujillo and more. Presenters are Chita Rivera, Tony Danza, Susan Stroman, John Turturro, AlBert Maysles, Tamara Tunie, Melissa Errico, Karen Ziemba and Judith Jamison.

This year they will be remembering Bob Fosse and Gwen Verdon and a few signature Bob Fosse numbers featuring current Broadway performers will be a part of the show. Bob Fosse directed Ms. Minnelli in the filmversion of Cabaret for which she won the Oscar for Best Leading Actress. This year’s awards ceremony will also be dedicated to Tony and Oscar-winning producer Marty Richards, a longtime friend of the awards. The Astaires were first started in 1982 by the late Fred Astaire and the late Douglas Watt (a critic and writer for the NY Daily News and The New Yorker). They are presented each year by Ava Astaire (Fred Astaire’s daughter) and Patricia Watt (the daughter of Douglas Watt). The awards will also feature direction from Joe Lanteri, who is the Executive Director of the New York City Dance Alliance andalso a teacher at the Juilliard School. Associate Producers are Carolyn Kendall Buchter and Sarah Bierstock.