Stage Tube: Lea Salonga at the Judging Table for the 2011 Ms. Universe Pageant

São Paulo, Brazil, September 13, 2011 -- Filipino Tony Award-winning actress Lea Salonga was one of the judges at the recently concluded 60th Annual Ms. Universe pageant, where Ms. Philippines, Shamcey Supsup, placed third and Ms. Angola, Leila Lopes, was crowned Ms. Universe.

Salonga's name was picked to ask Lopes her final question during the LIVE NBC broadcast of Ms. Universe. Her pre-written question from the pageant organizers was: "... If you could change one of your physical characteristics, which one would it be and why?"

"Thank God, I'm very well satisfied with the way God created me and I would not change a thing. I consider myself a woman with inner beauty. I've my principles. I've acquired many wonderful principles from my family and I plan to follow this through the rest of my life...," Lopes said -- speaking through an interpreter.

Apart from Salonga, other members of the judging panel were three-time winner of the Indianapolis 500, Helio Castroneves; U.S. broadcast icon, Connie Chung; Brazilian supermodel, Isabeli Fontana; actress and television producer, Vivica Fox; "The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills" star Adrienne Maloof; and 2003 Ms. Universe Amelia Vega.

Andy Cohen and Natalie Morales hosted the pageant.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
Oliver Oliveros Oliver Oliveros received a master's degree in public relations and corporate communication from New York University while serving as regional director for, where he accepted an Award for Excellence: Best International Editor in 2013.

For nearly 20 years, Oliver has been handling public relations, corporate communication, and integrated marketing communications for numerous brands (including Pepsi), Broadway shows, Broadway stars, non-profit organizations, and mainstream celebrities.

He is also the editor-in-chief for Fil-Am Who’s Who, a monthly magazine that tells the real-life success stories of Filipino Americans from the New York Tri-State area.