Nominees Announced For THE DISCOVERY AWARDS At The Tulsa PAC

Nominees Announced For THE DISCOVERY AWARDS At The Tulsa PAC

The nominees have been announced for the inaugural year of The Discovery Awards, presented by Celebrity Attractions in partnership with the Tulsa Performing Arts Center. This special regional program highlights and awards excellence in Eastern Oklahoma high school musical theatre and will conclude with a one night only special showcase event Friday, May 24 at the Tulsa Performing Arts Center. The best female performer selected and the best male performer selected will represent Oklahoma in New York City at the Jimmy Awards, otherwise known as The National High School Musical Theatre Awards in June 2019. Tickets to The Discovery Awards are on sale now.

The nominees are Isabel Agadagba - Junior, Union High School; Carson Been - Senior, Bishop Kelley High School;

Roxy Blish - Senior, Broken Arrow High School; Mikaela Bonilla - Sophomore, Edison Preparatory H.S.; Cameron Bruner - Junior, Broken Arrow High School; Lillie Burke - Senior, Bishop Kelley High School; Holly Calvin - Senior, Bristow High School; Tara Fritts - Junior, Riverfield Country Day School; Canyon Garner - Junior, Booker T. Washington H.S.; Camilo Gonzalez - Senior, Bishop Kelley High School; Matthew Gwinner - Junior, Edison Preparatory H.S.; Noah Harris - Sophomore, Fort Gibson High School; Catherine Hartman - Senior, Booker T. Washington H.S.; Augustus "Brit" Horton - Senior, Memorial High School; Sophie Jenkins - Sophomore, Metro Christian Academy; Baylor Kittelson - Senior, Jenks High School; Axyl Langford - Sophomore, Owasso High School; Savannah Lindsay - Junior, Bishop Kelley High School; Breanna Lubinski - Senior, Jenks High School;

Princy Mendenhall - Junior, Sapulpa High School; Chiara Miller - Junior, Fort Gibson High School; Hunter Remington - Sophomore, Bristow High School; Aidan Ryan - Senior, Union High School; Ethan Shaw - Junior, Riverfield Country Day School; Josh Sullivan - Junior, Metro Christian Academy; Joshua Terrones - Senior, Sapulpa High School; Cassell White - Senior, Memorial High School; J.J. Willis - Sophomore, Owasso High School.

The Discovery Awards showcase event is co-hosted by Mark Frie, director of the Tulsa Performing Arts Center, and LeAnne Taylor, KOTV News On 6 TV anchor, directed by Tony Award-winner and Drama Desk Award-winner Faith Prince and choreographed by Tony Award-nominee and Outer Critics Circle Award-winner Lara Teeter.

The nominee selection began in August 2018. A panel of adjudicators comprised of performing arts educators and professionals have been attending all participating high school musical productions throughout the school year. After the season closes, all votes will be tallied and the best female and best male performer from each high school will be announced. These students will take center stage at The Discovery Awards Friday, May 24 at 7:30p.m. at the Tulsa Performing Arts Center.

For more information please visit and

Related Articles View More Tulsa Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You