Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Cast Announced For The Toronto Production Of The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Play SWEAT

Cast Announced For The Toronto Production Of The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Play SWEAT

Canadian Stage and Studio 180 Theatre are pleased to announce the cast for the Toronto premiere production of the Pulitzer Prize-winning play Sweat by Lynn Nottage. A Canadian Stage and Studio 180 co-production, performances begin on January 14, 2020 at the Berkeley Street Theatre.

Directed by award-winning actor, director and educator David Storch, the stellar cast includes veteran Shaw and Stratford award-winning actor Kelli Fox (Penelopiad, Nightwood Theatre) as Tracey, award- winning stage and screen actor Allegra Fulton (CTV's Cardinal, CBC's Schitt's Creek, Oscar winning film The Shape of Water) will play Jessie, major theatre and TV actor Ordena Stephens-Thompson (Fences at Grand Theatre, Bravo's The Handmaid's Tale, CTV's Designated Survivor) will play Cynthia and Dora Award-winning, Gemini Award-nominated actor Maurice Dean Wint will play Evan. The cast also includes Christopher Allen, Jhonattan Ardila, Peter N. Bailey, Timothy Dowler-Coltman and Ron Lea, with Sabryn Rock as Assistant Director.

Written by Time 100 Most Influential People 2019 recipient Lynn Nottage, Sweat is a searing examination of industrial decline, race, politics, and friendship. Declared by The New York Times as "A must-see," Sweat was the winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and was nominated for an Olivier Award and three Tony Awards including Best Play.

Sweat chronicles the lives of a group of friends working in a steel mill. When rumours surface that the company is considering layoffs and flyers are hung to recruit non-union workers for less money, the war between community and capitalism begins and tensions start to destroy not only jobs, but friendships.

Related Articles View More Toronto Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You