Annual Sally Ordway Irvine Awards to be Held 6/9

Annual Sally Ordway Irvine Awards to be Held 6/9

The Ordway Center for the Performing Arts will host the award ceremony for the 2013 Sally Ordway Irvine Awards on Monday, June 9 at 5:30 p.m. For the first time in the 21-year history of the awards, the public will be invited to attend. There is no admission charge, but guests are asked to register online for free passes at

"The Sally Awards are highly anticipated by the statewide arts community each year, but the general public has not had an opportunity to attend the ceremony, which was formerly held in the 300-seat McKnight Theatre," says Ordway President & CEO Patricia A. Mitchell. "This year we're hosting the event in the larger Music Theater where we can accommodate more guests." The award ceremony will be co-hosted by Minnesota Public Radio personalities Alison Young of Classical 99.5 and Barb Abney from The Current 89.3. The format includes brief videos introducing each winner, remarks by the recipients, and brief musical performances by Paul Metsa, Gary Hines and Kevin Bowe. A reception will follow in the Marzitelli Foyer with complimentary hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar.

More than 150 individuals and organizations from throughout the state were nominated for this year's Sally Awards. The winners were selected by a committee consisting of Ordway representatives, last year's award recipients, Minnesota State Arts Board members, media representatives, and other leaders from the Minnesota arts and cultural community.

This year's Sally Awards are dedicated to the memory of arts promoter Sue McLean, who died in May 2013. McLean was a legend among concert-goers in the Twin Cities, conceiving and organizing mega-events for the Minnesota Zoo, the Guthrie Theater, the Basilica Block Party and many others.

The Sally Awards are a living tribute to the vision of Sally Ordway Irvine, who mobilized the community to support her dream of a new performing arts center in downtown Saint Paul. The awards are presented annually to honor individuals and institutions that strengthen and enrich Minnesota with their commitment to the arts, arts education and arts access. Throughout the past 21 years, the Ordway has been privileged to honor more than 80 outstanding artists, administrators, volunteers and organizations through these awards.

Last year's honorees were Anthony Caponi (Commitment), Faye M. Price and Noël Raymond (Initiative), Hillcrest Community School (Education), David J. Fraher and Arts Midwest (Arts Access) and Jimmy Longoria (Vision). A complete listing of all Sally Award recipients and videos of last year's winners are available online at

This activity is funded, in part, by the Minnesota State Arts Board through the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund as appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the Legacy Amendment vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008. Additional support is provided by the Minnesota State Arts Board, Minnesota Public Radio and Saint Paul Hotel.

Related Articles

St. Paul THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...