By: Nov. 11, 2008
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The New Group's U.S. premiere of Kevin Elyot's Mouth to Mouth directed by Mark Brokaw, officially opened November 6th on Theatre Row. This production features New Group artists David Cale, Lisa Emery and Elizabeth Jasicki. BWW TV sat down with the cast and creative team to discuss this powerful drama.

Mouth to Mouth enjoyed its world premiere at the Royal Court Theatre in 2001. Kevin Elyot's play, My Night with Reg, earned him the 1994 London Critic Circle Theatre Award for Most Promising Playwright and earned an Olivier Award nomination for Best Comedy.

Director Mark Brokaw helmed the Tony® nominated Broadway production of Cry-Baby. His additional Broadway credits include The Constant Wife and Reckless. With The New Group, Brokaw directed Kenneth Lonergan's This Is Our Youth (1996-97 season).

This production features Christopher Abbott (Off-B'way: Good Boys and True), David Cale (B'way: Three Penny Opera; Off-B'way: Two Thousand Years, My Night With Reg at The New Group; Film: Pollock), Lisa Emery (B'way: The Women, The Smell of the Kill; Off-B'way: The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Abigail's Party, What The Butler Saw at The New Group), Darren Goldstein (Off-B'way: Abigail's Party, Terrorism at The New Group; Guttenberg! The Musical, Bad Jazz), Elizabeth Jasicki (Off-B'way: Abigail's Party at The New Group), Andrew Polk (Off-B'way: The Accomplices at The New Group - 2007 Drama Desk Nomination, Walmartopia; TV: "30 Rock," "Law & Order"), Richard Topol (B'way: Awake and Sing - Drama Desk Award, Julius Caesar; TV: "The Practice") and includes Set Design by Riccardo Hernandez (B'way: Caroline, or Change, Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk; Off-B'way: Two Gentlemen of Verona), Costume Design by Michael Krass (B'way: The Constant Wife - Tony® Award nomination, Twelve Angry Men; Off-B'way: A Feminine Ending), Lighting Design by Mark McCullough (B'way: Jesus Christ Superstar) and Sound Design by David Van Tieghem (B'way: Doubt, Mauritius). This production will also include original music by David Van Tieghem.

Mouth to Mouth plays at The New Group @ Theatre Row (The Acorn Theatre / 410 West 42nd Street, between 9th & 10th Avenue) as follows: Monday @ 8:00 PM, Tuesday @ 7:00 PM, Wednesday through Saturday @ 8:00 PM and Saturday @ 2:00 PM (matinee). Tickets may be arranged through Ticket Central at or (212) 279-4200, or at the Theatre Row Box Office (12:00-8:00 PM daily). Tickets are $56.25. For more information, visit


To post a comment, you must register and login.