EVITA National Tour to Play Orpheum Theatre, 1/28-2/2

The stunning new production of Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber's Evita will make its Twin Cities premiere January 28-February 2, 2014 at the Orpheum Theatre (910 Hennepin Ave.) in Minneapolis. This version features updated orchestrations, choreography and scenic design offering a more authentic portrait of Argentinean culture and Eva's rise to and fall from power. Tickets are available now in person at the State Theatre Box Office, online at HennepinTheatreTrust.org, by calling 1.800.982.2787 or visiting a Ticketmaster Ticket Center. It is presented by Hennepin Theatre Trust as a part of its 2013-14 Broadway Across America-Minneapolis Season.

Directed by Tony and Olivier Award-winner Michael Grandage and choreographed by Tony Award-winner Rob Ashford, this is the first new production of the seven-time Tony Award- winning musical since its Broadway debut over 30 years ago.

Eva Pero?n used her beauty and charisma to rise meteorically from the slums of Argentina to the presidential mansion as First Lady. Adored by her people as a champion for the poor, she became one of the most powerful women in the world while her greed, outsized ambition and fragile health made her one of the most tragic. Evita tells Eva's passionate and unforgettable true story, and features some of theatre's most beautiful songs including "Don't Cry for Me Argentina," "Another Suitcase in Another Hall" and "High Flying, Adored" as well as the Oscar-winning song "You Must Love Me" from the 1996 motion picture Evita.

The cast features Caroline Bowman (Kinky Boots, Wicked, Spamalot, Fame: The Musical, Grease) as Eva Pero?n, Josh Young (Jesus Christ Superstar, Les Miserables, West Side Story), Sean MacLaughlin (The Phantom of the Opera, Bombay Dreams, The Woman in White, Elton John's Lestat) as Juan Pero?n, Desi Oakley (Annie, Wicked) as the Eva alternate, Christopher Johnstone (South Pacific) as Magaldi and Krystina Alabado (Green Day's American Idiot, Spring Awakening) as the Mistress.

Rounding out the ensemble are Ryan K. Bailer, Nicholas Belton, Jessica Bishop, Ronald L. Brown, Holly Ann Butler, Diana DiMarzio, Samantha Farrow, Katharine Heaton, Tony Howell, Katie Huff, Patrick Oliver Jones, Chris Kotera, Ian Liberto, Alison Mahoney, Robin Masella, Megan Ort, John Riddle, Morgan Rose, Jeffrey C. Sousa and Tug Watson.

Produced by Hal Luftig, Scott Sanders and Troika Entertainment, the creative team includes tour director Seth Sklar-Heyn, tour choreographer Chris Bailey, Tony Award-winning scenic and costume designer Christopher Oram, Tony Award-winning lighting designer Neil Austin, Olivier Award- winning sound designer Mick Potter, wig and hair designer Richard Mawbey, projection designer Zachary Borovay, music supervisor Kristen Blodgette and music director/conductor William Waldrop. Orchestrations are by Andrew Lloyd Webber and David Cullen, and dance arrangements are by David Chase.

Tickets for Evita are on sale now and start at $54 (subject to change) depending on performance time and seating preference. Tickets may be purchased in person (no service fees) at the State Theatre Box Office (805 Hennepin Ave.), online at HennepinTheatreTrust.org, through Ticketmaster by calling 1.800.982.2787 or by visiting a Ticketmaster Outlet Center. For patron protection and standard prices, Hennepin Theatre Trust strongly recommends purchasing only from authorized ticket outlets. All prices include applicable facility restoration fees. Additional charges may apply. Groups of 10 or more should call 612.373.5665 or contact MinneapolisGroups@broadwayacrossamerica for information and reservations.

Photo Credit: Richard Termine

Next on Stage

Related Articles View More Minneapolis / St. Paul Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You