Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

6th Annual CHICAGO ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL to Highlight Works by Women

The CHICAGO ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL (#1MPF) returns with a twist: the sixth annual event will celebrate the works of all women and women-identified playwrights and directors.

The marathon evening of one-minute plays by more than 70 of Chicago's established and emerging playwrights and directors will play two nights only, Tuesday, May 3 and Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at The Den Theatre, 1333 N. Milwaukee Ave. in Chicago's Wicker Park neighborhood.

Tickets, priced at $18, are currently available at

The CHICAGO ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL will feature brand new one-minute plays by Erin Austin, Brooke Allen, Samantha Beach, Dani Bryant, Sarah Bowden, EJC Calvert, Devan Cameron, Megan Carney, Jo Cattell, Jenny Lynn Christoffersen, Rachel Claff, Barrie Cole, Kristiana Colón, Amy Crider, SL Daniels, Samantha Dedian, Guadalís Del Carmen, Juli Del Prete, Lorena Diaz, Brynne Frauenhoffer, Kimberly D. Furganson, Corrie Glanville, Kate Healy, Skye Robinson Hillis, Reeny Hofrincher, Rachel Jackson, Laura Jacqmin, Chloe Johnston, Ebony Joy, Britteney Kapri, Beth Kander, Genevive Lally-Knuth, Whitney LaMora Currier, Lynnette Li, Danielle R. Littman, Rohina Malik, Arlene Malinowski, Maggie Mascal, Barbara McDonald, Morgan McNaught, Lyndee McPeek, Kim Morris, Enid Muñoz, Cathy Muskett, Laura Nessler, Kristi Parker-Barhart, Corbette Pasko, Jenna Jo Pawlicki, Coya Paz, Sarah Price, Mallory Primm, Tanise Robnett, Elaine Romero, Cassandra Rose, Janna Ross, Jennifer Rumberger, Zoe Schwartz, Jenny Seidelman, Sara Sevigny, Andi Sharavisky, Sheridan Singleton, Diana Slickman, Jessy Lauren Smith, Elise Spoerlein, Lee Stark, Tiffani Swalley, Leean Kim Torske, Eileen Tull, Maggie Wagner, Teagan Walsh-Davis, Dina Walters, Calamity West, Larissa Zageris and Ariel Zetina.

Directors include Jo Cattell, Jessica Fisch, Patrice Foster, Sarah Gitenstein, Chika Ike, Ana Martinez, Charlie McGrath, Diana Raiselis, Alyssa Vera Ramos, Lexi Saunders and Anna Trachtman.

"I'm thrilled to continue our partnership with The Den Theatre and embark on a new challenge in this amazing community," comments #1MPF Producing Artistic Director Dominic D'Andrea. "We've had six amazing years working with the Chicago theatre community at-large and being able to change things up and reframe the Festival as a gathering of women identified artists and women's voices seems like an opportunity that is needed - and it feels very right. Chicago has the most amazing cohort of women working in the American theatre and it's exciting to gather them in a forum like the One-MInute Play Festival," adds D'Andrea.



Dates: Tuesday, May 3 and Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 8 pm

Tickets: $18. Tickets are currently available at

THE ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL (#1MPF) is America's largest and longest running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D'Andrea . #1MPF is a social barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue, consensus building and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or social organizations sharing playwright, educational or community-specific missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF represents playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, theatre program in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access projects, arts workshops and other social and artistic initiatives.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis and more, with partnering institutions including Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theater, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor's Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT Seattle, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Samuel D. Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés and over to 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights. For more information, visit

Pictured: A performance from the 5th annual CHICAGO ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL. Photo by Juan Carlos Pelayo/HighFiveFoto.

Related Articles View More Chicago Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You