Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

VIDEO: Amy Schumer Pitches 'Betsy Ross' Hip Hopera Idea to HAMILTON's Lin-Manuel Miranda


The Emmy® and Peabody® Award-winning hit comedy show INSIDE AMY SCHUMER returns with a bang, continuing to push the limits of comedy. Schumer skewers everything from gender politics to human behavior in another season of sketch, stand-up comedy, and interviews. Nine new episodes begin on Thursday, April 21 at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT as the series continues to explore topics revolving around sex and relationships, and delves into how you can never be too exposed. Below, watch Amy pitch an idea for her own HAMILTON-style hip hopera to Lin-Manuel Miranda!

In season four, Schumer meets a bad boy chef, gives birth at a tea party, and is elected president of the United States. This season also features a stellar lineup of guest appearances including Selena Gomez, Jake Gyllenhaal, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Liam Neeson, Harvey Keitel, Laura Linney, Jennifer Hudson, Lena Dunham, Julianne Moore, Josh Charles, Steve Buscemi, Michael Strahan, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Sam Rockwell, Amber Rose, Irina Shayk, David Spade, Julia Stiles, Patton Oswalt, Justin Long, Natasha Lyonne, Andy Cohen, Questlove, Mena Suvari, Jim Norton, Michael Ian Black, Anthony Bourdain, Chris Parnell, Amber Tamblyn, Rachel Dratch, Abby Elliott, Jessica Williams, Bridget Everett, Jon Glaser, Perez Hilton, Missi Pyle, Ralphie May, Tim Meadows, Jon Benjamin, Reg E. Cathey, Sarah Chalke, Jemaine Clement, Vernon Davis, Greg Olsen and F. Murray Abraham.

Amy Schumer has proven herself one of the entertainment industry's leading forces as a stand-up comedian, actress, writer, producer and director. Her critically acclaimed series was given the 2016 Writers Guild Award for "Best Comedy/Variety Sketch" series. Last fall the show was honored with its first-ever Emmy® Award for "Outstanding Sketch Variety Series" and one for "Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics" for the song "Girl You Don't Need Makeup." Schumer was also nominated for "Outstanding Directing for a Variety Series" and "Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series." She also received honors for "Individual Achievement in Comedy" and "Outstanding Achievement in Comedy" from the Television Critics Association in 2015. Additionally, she was awarded the 2015 Critics' Choice Television Award for "Best Actress in a Comedy Series." "Inside Amy Schumer" received the prestigious Peabody® Award in 2014.

Schumer's Universal Pictures hit Trainwreck dominated the 2015 summer international box office. Amy wrote the film which co-starred Bill Hader, Tilda Swinton, Brie Larson, LeBron James and Vanessa Bayer. Judd Apatow directed the film which was nominated for two Golden Globes including "Best Actress, Comedy or Musical," as well as "Best Picture, Comedy or Musical." She won the Critics' Choice Movie Award for "Best Actress in a Comedy" and was nominated for a Writers' Guild Award in the category of "Original Screenplay." In 2015, the British Academy of Film and Television (BAFTA) honored Schumer with "The Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy."

Her one-hour comedy special, Amy Schumer: Live at the Apollo (for HBO), directed by Chris Rock, earned her a Writers Guild nomination for "Best Comedy/Variety Special." Simon & Schuster's imprint Gallery Books will publish Schumer's first book "The Girl with The Lower Back Tattoo" on August 16th, 2016.

Throughout the new season, fans can watch exclusive, uncensored highlight clips, as well as get an extended look at the series via the "Inside Amy Schumer" Web site at In addition, the "Inside Amy Schumer" Facebook page ( will be updated multiple times a week with the latest content from the show including memes and gifs. Additionally, a new digital series will give viewers a look "behind the curtain" at THE WRITERS' ROOM to see the hilarious inner workings on the show. Fans can also follow Amy on Twitter (@amyschumer) and Instagram (

On April 21, episodes from season four of "Inside Amy Schumer" will also be made available on the Comedy Central App and The first episode of the season will be available with no login required. Seasons 1-3 will be available (login required) on the Comedy Central App and in the two weeks leading up to the season four premiere on April 21. Episodes will be available for download day after air on iTunes, Amazon Video, Microsoft Movies and TV, Sony Entertainment Network, Vudu, Verizon Flexview, and Google Play. And in advance of the new season, a digital box set "Inside Amy Schumer Seasons 1-3 Uncensored" will be released on March 21 on iTunes, Microsoft Movies and TV and Vudu.

"Inside Amy Schumer" is created by Schumer and Daniel Powell, who executive produce along with Jessi Klein. Klein also serves as Head Writer. Tony Hernandez and Steve Ast are executive producers and Kevin Kane and Kim Caramele are supervising producers. "Inside Amy Schumer" is directed by Ryan McFaul. Theme and interstitial music composed by Questlove. "Inside Amy Schumer's" production services are provided by Jax Media, a New York based film and television production company, helmed by veteran producer Tony Hernandez. Sarah Babineau and Ari Pearce are the Executives in Charge of Production for Comedy Central.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

From This Author Caryn Robbins