Telemundo's Jose Diaz-Balart Joins MSNBC

Telemundo's Jose Diaz-Balart Joins MSNBC

Emmy Award-winning journalist and Telemundo anchor José Díaz-Balart will join MSNBC's weekday line-up next month. Díaz-Balart will anchor MSNBC's 10 a.m. hour live from Miami, Florida. He will begin in mid-June following the departure of Chris Jansing, who is heading to Washington as NBC News Sr. White House Correspondent. The announcement was made today by Phil Griffin, President of MSNBC.

Díaz-Balart currently co-anchors Telemundo's "Noticiero Telemundo" and hosts "Enfoque con José Díaz-Balart," roles in which he will continue to serve.

"It's a great privilege for me to be able to be a part of the MSNBC team while continuing my work with my colleagues at Telemundo," said Díaz-Balart. "I look forward to providing news and information in a dynamic and objective manner, while always recognizing America's unique diversity."

"MSNBC is committed to engaging new audiences and communities. To that end, I've been talking with José for several months about bringing his voice to MSNBC," said Griffin. "He has a keen understanding of the political landscape and three decades of experience in both broadcast and cable news. We're fortunate to have a journalist of José's caliber join our line-up. My thanks to our partners at Telemundo for supporting this unique arrangement."

One of the most respected voices in journalism, Díaz-Balart began his career in 1983 and has reported historic events and interviewed major political figures for prestigious news outlets including NBC News and Telemundo. His achievements include being the first journalist to serve as news anchor on two national television networks in Spanish and English on the same day for an entire season.

Díaz-Balart has received numerous accolades for his work, including the George Foster Peabody Award, Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia University Award, and the Broadcasting & Cable/Multichannel News 2012 Award for Outstanding Achievement in Hispanic Television. More recently, he was honored in 2014 with the Hispanic Federation's Lifetime Achievement Award.