Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

HOMELAND, RAY DONOVAN Among Showtime's 22 Emmy Award Nominations

Today, Showtime was recognized with 22 Emmy nominations across multiple categories and genres including five nominations for the hit summer series RAY DONOVAN and four nominations for the network's flagship series HOMELAND. Seven Showtime actors were honored with nominations this morning including HOMELAND's Claire Danes, RAY DONOVAN's Liev Schreiber, Jon Voight and Hank Azaria, SHAMELESS' William H. Macy, THE AFFAIR's Maura Tierney and MASTERS OF SEX's Allison Janney. Showtime also has two nominations in the Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series category for RAY DONOVAN's David Hollander and HOMELAND's Lesli Linka Glatter, the only female directing contender in the category. The psychological thriller PENNY DREADFUL received six nominations overall in the craft categories.

HOMELAND received its fourth nomination for Outstanding Drama Series, and Claire Danes her fifth nomination for Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her role as "Carrie Mathison." Danes has previously won two Emmys in the Lead Actress in a Drama Series category for HOMELAND. Lesli Linka Glatter was recognized with her fourth Emmy nomination for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series, and David Klein received his second nomination for Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series, both nominated for episode 502 - "The Tradition of Hospitality." HOMELAND goes into production on its sixth season later this summer in New York City, and will return to Showtime in 2017.

The hit Showtime series RAY DONOVAN received five nominations, including a second consecutive Emmy nomination for Liev Schreiber for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series. Additionally, Jon Voight was honored for the second time in the Supporting Actor in a Drama Series category for his role as "Mickey Donovan," his fourth overall Emmy nomination. Hank Azaria was also nominated for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series for his role as "Ed Cochran." Series executive producer and showrunner David Hollander was recognized with his first ever Emmy nomination for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series for the season three finale. And, Robert Edmondson, R. Russell Smith and Harrison 'Duke' Marsh were honored with nominations for Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour). RAY DONOVAN airs Sundays at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

Since the series switched to the comedy category, SHAMELESS star William H. Macy has gone three for three, receiving a third consecutive Emmy nomination for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. This is Macy's twelfth nomination overall. The series also received a nomination for Outstanding Stunt Coordination for a Comedy Series or Variety Program for Eddie Perez. SHAMELESS is currently in production on its seventh season, which will premiere on October 2nd at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

Coming off her Golden Globe® win, Maura Tierney was honored with her first nomination for her role as "Helen Solloway" on THE AFFAIR, and her second nomination overall. The third season of THE AFFAIR will premiere on Sunday, November 20th at 10 p.m. ET/PT.

Allison Janney was honored for the third consecutive year for her role as "Margaret Scully" in the critically-acclaimed drama series MASTERS OF SEX. This is Janney's twelfth nomination overall, she was also recognized in the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series today for CBS' Mom. MASTERS OF SEX garnered its third consecutive nomination for Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Period Program (One Hour or More) for production designer Elizabeth H. Gray, art director Valerie Green and set decorator Halina Siwolop. The show also received a nomination for Outstanding Hairstyling for a Single-Camera Series for Mary Ann Valdes (her sixth nomination), Matthew Holman and George Guzman. Season four of MASTERS OF SEX premieres on Sunday, September 11th at 10 p.m. ET/PT.

PENNY DREADFUL received six Emmy nominations in the craft categories this morning, including nods for Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Contemporary or Fantasy Program (Jonathan McKinstry, Jo Riddell, Philip Murphy), Outstanding Special Visual Effects (James Cooper, Bill Halliday, Sarah McMurdo, Mai-Ling Lee, Greg Astles, Ricardo Gomez, Matt Ralph, Alexandre Scott, Kyle Yoneda), Outstanding Hairstyling for a Single-Camera Series (Ferdinando Merolla, Sevlene Roddy, Giuliano Mariano, Orla Carroll), Outstanding Makeup for a Single-Camera Series (Non-Prosthetic) (Enzo Mastrantonio, Clare Lambe, Caterina Sisto, Lorraine McCrann, Morna Ferguson), and Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for a Series, Limited Series, Movie or a Special (Nick Dudman, Sarita Allison, Barney Nikolic, Paul Spateri, Dennis Penkov), the show's second consecutive Emmy nomination in the category. Abel Korzeniowski was once again honored for Outstanding Music Composition for a Series, his second consecutive Emmy nomination for PENNY DREADFUL.

And finally, the critically-acclaimed Showtime documentary LISTEN TO ME MARLON received a nomination for Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Special. Written, edited and directed by Stevan Riley, the film unlocks two-time Oscar® winner Marlon Brando's extensive never-before-heard personal audio archive, bringing viewers on a creative odyssey into the mind and motivation of the enigmatic legend. LISTEN TO ME MARLON was produced by Academy Award®-winning producer John Battsek (Searching for Sugar Man, The Tillman Story), Emmy winner R.J. Cutler (The World According To Dick Cheney, The September Issue) and Emmy Award nominee George Chignell (Ali). Academy Award winner Andrew Ruhemann served as the executive producer.

Image courtesy of Showtime

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk