Chelsea Peretti to Host 2019 Writers Guild Awards

Article Pixel

Chelsea Peretti to Host 2019 Writers Guild Awards

Acclaimed actress-writer-comedian Chelsea Peretti (Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Parks and Recreation) is set to host the 2019 Writers Guild Awards L.A. show on Sunday, February 17, 2019.

"I'm excited for people to judge the writing of my jokes!" said Peretti.

Returning as Executive Producer of the WGAW's Writers Guild Awards show, former SNL writer and Emmy winner Hugh Fink remarked: "Chelsea Peretti is hosting the Writers Guild Awards, and she will do a FANTASTIC job. Not a WITCH HUNT. I picked Chelsea because she's a great comedian and writer. There was NO COLLUSION."

Behind the camera, Chelsea has written for Parks and Recreation, for which she earned two Writers Guild Award nominations for Comedy Series in 2012 and 2013, Saturday Night Live, Portlandia, The Sarah Silverman Program, and Kroll Show, as well as the podcast WTF with Marc Maron.

In addition to co-starring for five seasons Fox's comedy series Brooklyn Nine-Nine as 99th precinct administrator "Gina Linetti" - a role which garnered her a 2014 AMERICAN COMEDY AWARDS nomination as Favorite Comedy Supporting Actress and a 2015 SCREEN ACTORS GUILD AWARDS nomination (Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series) - she has appeared in HBO's farewell season of Girls, Fox's New Girl, FX's Louie, and Freeform's Alone Together, as well as Comedy Central's Kroll Show, Drunk History, Another Period, Key and Peele, and The Sarah Silverman Program. She also voices "Monica" on Netflix's animated series Big Mouth and contributed voice work on animated series American Dad! and China, IL.

Most recently, Peretti appeared in the 2018 dark comedy Game Night, opposite Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdams, and wrapped shooting Friendsgiving, opposite Malin Akerman and Kat Dennings, as well as the lead in upcoming indie film Spinster, both due out in 2019.

Her well-received stand-up comedy special, One of the Greats, enjoys a large following on Netflix, and Peretti continues to tour her stand-up comedy at comedy clubs, theaters, and festivals around the world.

Earlier in her career, Peretti was named one of the "Top 10 Comics to Watch" by Variety, appeared on Comedy Central's "Hot List," called "one of the fall's buzziest breakouts" by Entertainment Weekly, and "a comedic gem whose dry wit is unparalleled" by New York Post.

2019 WGA West Coast show Executive Producer Hugh Fink's recent work includes serving as a writer on the upcoming Netflix series, Standup and Away! with Brian Regan, and as host and executive producer of MeTV's new series, Hugh Fink's Real L.A.

During his tenure as a writer for Saturday Night Live, he shared a Primetime Emmy Award in 2002 (Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program), as well as a 2001 Emmy nomination. In addition, he received three WGA nominations as part of the SNL writing staff in 2003, 2002, and 2001 (Comedy/Variety [Including Talk] Series). Fink also created and executive produced Comedy Central's The Showbiz Show with David Spade, as well as NickMom's Parental Discretion. His additional television writing-producing credits include Comedy Central Roast of Rob Lowe and A Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa. Also joining Fink, Decoupage Productions will be returning once again to produce the show.

Other key talent returning to the 2019 WGA show's creative and production team includes:

  • Co-Producer Kelly Brock, whose numerous awards show credits include the Critics' Choice Awards, Teen Choice Awards, and American Cinematheque Tributes to Robert Downey, Jr., Matt Damon, Julia Roberts, Amy Adams, and, most recently, Bradley Cooper, as well as the 20th anniversary CBS telecast of A Home for the Holidays and Season Five of Paramount Network's Lip Sync Battle.
  • Head Writer Joe O'Brien, whose writing credits include The Late, Late Show with Craig Ferguson, as well as co-producer on the Critics' Choice Awards and producer on Candid Camera.

The WGAW's Awards Committee includes members Karen Harris (Chair), Steve Chivers, Patrick J. Doody, Shelly Goldstein, and Scott Saltzburg.

Photo credit: Luke Davies

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk