Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Aaron Sorkin to Receive Nantucket Festival's 2014 Screenwriters Award

The Nantucket Film Festival's most esteemed awards honor the careers of noted screenwriters who have brought distinction to the craft of writing for film. Our red carpet Screenwriters Tribute is hosted by Brian Williams, NFF Board member and NBC News anchor, who shows off his flair for humor. This year's event will be held on Saturday, June 28.

The 2014 Screenwriters Tribute Award will be presented to AARON SORKIN, best known as the screenwriter behind The Social Network (Academy Award winner, Best Adapted Screenplay) and the creator of the Emmy Award-winning television shows The West Wing, The Newsroom, and Sports Night.

His other film and television credits include Malice, The American President, Charlie Wilson's War, and NBC's Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. The film adaptation of Sorkin's Broadway playwriting debut, A Few Good Men, was nominated for four Academy Awards. Sorkin will next adapt Steve Jobs, the Walter Isaacson biography of the late Apple co-founder.

The Award will be presented by Emily Mortimer who stars on Sorkin's The Newsroom.

Past Nantucket Film Festival Screenwriters Tribute honorees include David O. Russell, Nancy Meyers, Paul Haggis, Judd Apatow, Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor, Steve Martin, Charlie Kaufman, and James Schamus.

Source: Nantucket Film Festival

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk