Click Here for More Articles on 2020 AWARDS SEASON

2016 IRNE Awards Winners Announced - THE GREAT COMET OF 1812, Jessie Mueller in WAITRESS, Abby Mueller in BEAUTIFUL and More!

The 20th Annual Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Awards were held on April 11 at the Holiday Inn Boston/Brookline. Founded by Beverly Creasey of the Journal Newspapers and Larry Stark of the TheaterMirror in 1997, the IRNE Awards recognize the extraordinary wealth of talent in the Boston theatre community.

The 2016 IRNE Awards Winners are:


New Play
Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-Dave Malloy-American Repertory Theatre

Set Design
Mimi Lien-Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812- American Repertory Theatre

Costume Design
Paloma Young- Natasha, Pierre-and the Great Comet of 1812 - American Repertory Theatre

Lighting Design
Bradley King-Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-American Repertory Theatre

Sound Design
Matt Hubbs-Natasha,Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-American Repertory Theatre

Projection Design
Zachary G. Borovay-The Colored Museum-Huntington Theatre Company

Peggy Hickey-Nice Work If You Can Get It-Ogunquit Playhouse

Solo Performance
Tangela Large-Mr. Joy-Arts/Emerson

Billy Elliot-North Shore Music Theatre

Supporting Actress-Musical
McCaela Donovan-A Little Night Music-Huntington Theatre Company

Supporting Actor-Musical
James Beaman-Nice Work If You Can Get It-Ogunquit Playhouse

Jessie Mueller-Waitress-American Repertory Theatre

Scott Stangland-Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-American Repertory Theatre

Supporting Actress-Play
Haneefah Wood-Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike-Huntington Theatre Company

Supporting Actor-Play
Nathan Lee Graham-The Colored Museum-Huntington Theatre Company

Adrianne Krstansky-Come Back, Little Sheba-Huntington Theatre Company

Will Lyman-King Lear-Commonwealth Shakespeare Company

Music Director
Dan Rodriguez-Guys and Dolls-Reagle Music Theatre

Visiting Play- Larger
Kinky Boots-Broadway in Boston

Visiting Play-Large
Ernest Shackleton Loves Me-Arts Emerson

Visiting Actress
Abby Mueller-Beautiful-Broadway in Boston

Visiting Actor
Kyle Taylor Parker-Kinky Boots-Broadway in Boston

Rachel Chavkin-Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-American Repertory Theatre

David Cromer-Come Back, Little Sheba-Huntington Theatre Company

Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812-American Repertory Theatre

Come Back, Little Sheba-Huntington Theatre Company

Promising Young Performer
Nicholas Dantes and Brooks Landegger-Billy Elliot-North Shore Music Theatre


New Play
The Misadventures of Spy Matthias-Joe Byers-Theater on Fire

Set Design
Cristina M. Todesco-Appropriate-SpeakEasy Stage Company

Costume Design
Charles G. Baldwin-Shrek! - Wheelock Family Theatre

Lighting Design
Franklin Meissner, Jr.-The Snow Queen-New Repertory Theatre

Projection Design
Garrett Herzig-Albatross-New Repertory Theatre

Sound Design
Arshan Gailus-Appropriate-SpeakEasy Stage Company

Puppetry Design
Eric Bornstein-Shockheaded Peter-Company One

Ilyse Robbins-How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying -Stoneham Theatre

Solo Performance
Phil Tayler-Buyer and Cellar-Lyric Stage Company of Boston

The Farnsworth Invention-Flat Earth Theatre

Supporting Actress-Play-Fringe
Shana Dirik-Kimberly Akimbo-Moonbox Productions

Supporting Actor-Play-Fringe
Matthew Zahnzinger-The Polish Joke-Titanic Theatre Company

Sheriden Thomas-Kimberly Akimbo-Moonbox Productions

Michael Fisher-The Farnsworth Invention-Flat Earth Theatre

Supporting Actress-Play-Midsize
Marianna Bassham-God's Ear-Actors' Shakespeare Project

Supporting Actor-Play-Midsize
Derry Woodhouse-The New Electric Ballroom-Gloucester Stage Company

Lindsey McWhorter-Intimate Apparel-Lyric Stage Company of Boston

Nael Nacer-The Flick-Gloucester Stage Company

Supporting Actress-Musical
Maureen Keiller-The Snow Queen-New Repertory Theatre

Supporting Actor-Musical
Maurice Emmanuel Parent-The Snow Queen-New Repertory Theatre

Jennifer Ellis-My Fair Lady-Lyric Stage

Christopher Chew-Shrek!-Wheelock Family Theatre

Music Director
Hankus Netsky and Paul Sparr -The King of Second Avenue-New Repertory Theatre

Sarah Gazdowicz-The Farnsworth Invention-Flat Earth Theatre

Thomas Derrah-God's Ear-Actors' Shakespeare Project

Visiting Production
Bedlam's St. Joan-Underground Railway Theater

Visiting Performer
Andrus Nichols-Bedlam's St. Joan-Underground Railway Theater

Scott Edmiston-My Fair Lady-Lyric Stage Company of Boston

My Fair Lady-Lyric Stage Company of Boston

The Farnsworth Invention-Flat Earth Theatre

God's Ear-Actors' Shakespeare Project

Promising Actor
Zehava Younger-The Diary of Anne Frank-Boston Children's Theatre

Special Awards

Paula Plum-for Valiant Replacement-Red Hot Patriot: The Kick-Ass Wit of Molly Ivins-Lyric Stage Company of Boston

Brenda Vaccaro-for Valiant Replacement-Nice Work If You Can Get It-Ogunquit Playhouse

Elbert Joseph-Special Recognition-The Ware Trilogy-Emerson Stage, Central Square Theater, Wheelock Family Theatre

The IRNE reviewers include:

Sheila Barth, Jules Becker, Al Chase, Michael Cox, Jack Craib, Beverly Creasey, Cathy Scrizzi Driscoll*, Shirley Esthimer*, Rich Fahey, Guy Giampapa, Nancy Grossman, Mike Hoban, Robert Israel, Beatrice Lee, and Larry Stark.

*Denotes non-voting member

For more information, visit: http://www.irneawards.com/

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You