Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Theatre Communications Group Announces New Appointments to Board of Directors

Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for theatre, announces new leadership of its board of directors and six new members. Lydia R. Diamond, playwright, and Diane Rodriguez, associate producer/director of new play production, Center Theatre Group, will assume the joint positions of vice president. They succeed James Bundy, artistic director, Yale Repertory Theatre and Rachel Kraft, executive director, Lookingglass Theatre Company. Philip Himberg, producing artistic director of The Sundance Institute Theatre Program, will continue to serve his term as board president. Roche Schulfer, executive director, Goodman Theatre will continue to serve as treasurer and Ralph Bryan, managing director, Bryan-Billauer-Kozo, Financial Strategies Group, Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC will succeed Olga Sanchez, artistic director, Miracle Theatre Group, as secretary.

“As our 50th anniversary draws to a close, TCG’s board continues to provide their invaluable insight and experience, helping us step boldly into the next fifty years,” said Teresa Eyring, Executive Director of TCG. “The aesthetic, cultural and geographic diversity of our movement is reflected in our board, empowering TCG to serve our ever-expanding field in a time of rapid change.”

The new board members include: Sarah Bellamy, associate artistic director – education, Penumbra Theatre Company, St Paul, MN; Kwame Kwei-Armah, artistic director, CENTERSTAGE, Baltimore, MD; Max Leventhal, general manager, ALLIANCE THEATRE, Atlanta, GA; Kate Lipuma, executive director, Writers’ Theatre, Glencoe, IL; Eric Rosen, artistic director, Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Kansas City, MO; and Michael S. Rosenberg, managing director, La Jolla Playhouse, La Jolla, CA.

“When I received a TCG/NEA Playwright in Residence Fellowship in 2007, it never occurred to me that I would one day serve on the board of an organization that was so impactful on the trajectory of my artistic development,” said co-vice president Lydia R. Diamond. “It is a pleasure to lend a collaborative hand in supporting, defining, and documenting the landscape of our global theatre community.”

Members of TCG’s board serve three two-year terms. Board officers serve terms of one-year, concurrent with the fiscal year of July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.

Returning board members include: Ralph Bryan, managing director – investments, Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC., La Jolla, CA; James Bundy, artistic director, Yale Repertory Theatre and dean, Yale School of Drama, New Haven, CT; Mark Cuddy, artistic director, Geva Theatre Center, Rochester, NY; Lydia R. Diamond, playwright, Boston, MA; Teresa Eyring, executive director, Theatre Communications Group, New York, NY; Cynthia Fuhrman, director of marketing & communications; Joseph Haj, producing artistic director, Playmakers Repertory Company, Chapel Hill, NC; Andrew D. Hamingson, executive director, St. Ann’s Warehouse, Brooklyn, NY; Aimee Hayes, artistic director, Southern Rep, New Orleans, LA; Michelle Hensley, artistic director; Ten Thousand Things Theater Company, Minneapolis, MN; Ed Herendeen, producing director; Contemporary American Theater Festival, Shepherdstown, WV; Philip Himberg, producing artistic director, Sundance Institute Theatre Program, Sundance, UT; Robert Hupp, producing artistic director, Arkansas Repertory Theatre, Little Rock, AR; Morgan Jenness, creative consultant, Abrams Artists Agency, New York, NY; Chris Jennings, managing director; Shakespeare Theatre Company, Washington, DC; Tim Jennings, managing director; Children's Theatre Company, Minneapolis, MN; Marshall Jones III, producing artistic director, Crossroads Theatre Company, New Brunswick, NJ; Rachel Kraft, executive director, Lookingglass Theatre Company, Chicago, IL; Kevin Moriarty, artistic director, Dallas Theater Center, Dallas, TX; Jonathan Moscone, artistic director, California Shakespeare Theater, Berkeley, CA; Lynn Nottage, playwright, Brooklyn, NY; Ralph Peña, artistic director, Ma-Yi Theater Company; Diane Rodriguez, associate producer/director of new play production, Center Theatre Group, Los Angeles, CA; Olga Sanchez, artistic director, Miracle Theatre Group, Portland, OR; Sean San Jose, program director, Intersection for the Arts, San Francisco, CA; Roche Schulfer, executive director, Goodman Theatre, Chicago, IL; Megan Wanlass Szalla, executive director, Siti Company, New York, NY; Mark Valdez, executive director, Network of Ensemble Theatres, Los Angeles, CA; Clyde Valentin, executive director, Hip-Hop Theater Festival, Brooklyn, NY; Angel Ysaguirre, deputy commissioner for arts planning, City of Chicago - Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, Chicago, IL.

For over 50 years, Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for the American theatre, has existed to strengthen, nurture and promote the professional not-for-profit American theatre. TCG’s constituency has grown from a handful of groundbreaking theatres to nearly 700 member theatres and affiliate organizations and more than 12,000 individuals nationwide. TCG offers its members networking and knowledge-building opportunities through conferences, events, research and communications; awards grants, approximately $2 million per year, to theatre companies and individual artists; advocates on the federal level; and serves as the U.S. Center of the InterNational Theatre Institute, connecting its constituents to the global theatre community. TCG is North America’s largest independent publisher of dramatic literature, with 11 Pulitzer Prizes for Best Play on the TCG booklist. It also publishes the award-winning AMERICAN THEATRE magazine and ARTSEARCH®, the essential source for a career in the arts. In all of its endeavors, TCG seeks to increase the organizational efficiency of its member theatres, cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the field and promote a larger public understanding of, and appreciation for, the theatre. For more information visit

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You