Click Here for More Articles on STEPHEN SONDHEIM

Star-Studded Hammerstein Award Ceremony to Joseph Stein

The York Theatre Company announces the cast for the 16th Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre on Monday, November 12 where York will honor Broadway playwright Joseph Stein.  The Award culminates York's yearlong celebration of Stein with the Fall 2006 and Fall 2007 Musicals in Mufti Series - the York's acclaimed series of musical theatre gems in staged concert performances. 

The concert celebration of Stein's career will be presented at Saint Peter's Church, which is upstairs from the York Theatre space on 54th Street (just east of Lexington). Prior to the 8:15PM curtain will be a dinner at Brasserie (100 E. 53rd Street between Park & Lex), with single tickets or whole tables available for purchase.  Cocktails start at 6pm; the dinner begins at 6:30PM.  The evening will conclude with a champagne dessert reception and cast party for all attendees.  For tickets and complete details, visit or call 212-935-5820.

Directed by Stuart Ross (York's It's a Bird…It's a Plane...It's Superman, Forever Plaid), the evening will include appearances by Beth Fowler (York's Zorba, The Boy From Oz), Renee Goldsberry (York's The Baker's Wife, The Color Purple), Megan Lawrence (York's The Body Beautiful, The Pajama Game), Gay Marshall (York's The Baker's Wife, Jacques Brel is Alive and Well and Living in Paris), Brad Oscar (York's The Body Beautiful, The Producers), Lenny Wolpe (York's The Baker's Wife, Wicked) and Karen Ziemba (Curtains, York's Weird Romance) and the cast of York's Musical in Mufti presentation of Enter Laughing, The Musical: Bruce Adler (Crazy for You, Tony Award nomination), Paul Binotto (Dreamgirls), Jill Eikenberry ("L.A. Law"), Erick Devine (Ragtime),  Josh Grisetti ("The Knights of Prosperity"), Kaitlin Hopkins (Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas, The Great American Trailer Park Musical), George S. Irving (So Long, 174th Street), Trisha Rapier (The Boy From Oz), Robb Sapp (Johnny Guitar, Zanna, Don't), Emily Shoolin (Nerds://A Musical Software Satire), Kelly Sullivan (Bells are Ringing) and Michael Tucker ("L.A. Law").

The concert will also include appearances by many actors who have appeared in the Stein Mufti Series over this past year:  Wendi Bergamini (The Baker's Wife), Jacque Carnahan (The Baker's Wife), Betsy DiLellio (The Baker's Wife), Laura Marie Duncan (The Body Beautiful), Michael J. Farina (Fanny Hill), Joy Franz (The Baker's Wife), Amy Goldberger (The Body Beautiful), Rick Hilsabeck (Plain and Fancy), Lorinda Lisitza (Plain and Fancy), Andrew Rasmussen (Take Me Along), Adam Riegler (I and Albert), Ray Wills (Carmelina) and Deone Zanotto (Zorba).

Joe Stein collaborators John Kander, Stephen Schwartz, Charles Strouse, Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock will also be a part of the Awards Gala.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award is named in honor of the legendary lyricist who helped shape American musical theatre through his collaborations with a number of different composers and writers.   The Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala is the major fundraising event of The York Theatre Company.  Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing and Tony Walton.

The York Theatre Company is the only theatre in New York City---and one of very few in the world--- dedicated to developing and fully producing new musicals and preserving neglected, notable shows from the past.  For over three decades, the York's intimate, imaginative style of producing both new and classic musicals has resulted in critical acclaim, multiple awards, and acclamation from artists and audiences alike.  In 2006, a special Drama Desk Award was presented to the York for its "vital contributions to theater by developing and presenting new musicals."

For tickets, visit or call 212-935-5820. The York Theatre Company is located at Saint Peter's Theatre (54th Street Just East of Lexington).

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram