Photo Coverage: Pre-Drama Desk Awards Party and Arrivals

By: May. 22, 2007
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The 52nd Annual Drama Desk Awards were presented on Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 9:00 PM, at the F.H. LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center, 100 Amsterdam Avenue.  Prior to the ceremony, a star-studded pre-show party was held at the Russian Tea Room.

Past Drama Desk winner Kristin Chenoweth—who was nominated for her performance in The Apple Tree—hosted the ceremony.  Tom Stoppard's The Coast of Utopia was awarded Outstanding Play, with Spring Awakening chosen Outstanding Musical, Journey's End Outstanding Revival of a Play and Company Outstanding Revival of a Musical.

In keeping with the Drama Desk's unique mission, the nominators considered theatrical events that opened on Broadway, off Broadway and off-off Broadway during the 2006/2007 season in the same competitive categories. Deliberations by the nominators culminated in a marathon weekend session at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, which ended Monday afternoon, April 23. The nominators included: Chairperson Barbara Siegel, and; Glenda Frank, Plays International and; Tony Phillips, New York Press; Andrew Propst, and XM Satellite Radio; Richard Ridge, Broadway Beat TV; and Drama Desk President William Wolf,

Abrams Gentile Entertainment and Russ Berrie, the creators of Shining Stars, sponsored the ceremony, as well as Production Resource Group and Sound Associates.  Each Drama Desk nominees and presenters were given their own Shining Star™ plush figure that they were able to name and take with them at the end of the evening.  Receptions were sponsored by Arte Café, Russian Tea Room, China Grill, and the NY Friars Club. Additional food and beverages were provided by Grey Goose Vodka, Peroni Beer, Tony's Di Napoli, Hawaiian Tropic Restaurant. and  Wines by Lubov Galleries. In-kind and media sponsors included Hit Show Club, Federico Salon, Variety and ARRIVE Magazine (on Amtrak). Software Pronto is the Manager/Host of the official Drama Desk website.  Transportation was provided by Gray Line NY Sightseeing.  

For a complete list of Drama Desk Award-winners, visit this link.  Visit for more information.

Pre-Show Party

Beth Leavel and John Milne

Bob Stillman and Beth Leavel

William Wolf and Beth Leavel

Jason Michael Snow and Wayman Wong

Orville Mendoza and Michael Potts

Christine Ebersole

Michael Borowski and Christine Ebersole

Peter Filichia, Erica Ryan, Pun Bandhu and Ellis Nassour

Barbara Walsh

Leann Lazar and Aaron Lazar

Angela Christian and Thomas Kail

Matt Cavenaugh, Leann Lazar and Aaron Lazar

Duncan Sheik, Steven Sater and Michael Mayer

Mandy Gonzalez and Karen Olivo

T.R. Knight

Mia Barron and T.R. Knight

Terrence McNally and Tom Kirdahy

Anthony Chisholm and Paula Weiman

Michelle Rios and Doreen Montalvo

Ashley Brown

Ellis Nassour, Michael Mayer, Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik

Tamara Tunie and Ashley Brown

Martha Plimpton

Emily Harvey and Gavin Lee

Martha Plimpton and Tricia Walsh-Smith


Jim Dale

Orville Mendoza

Iris Bahr

Duncan Sheik

Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik

Al Grand and Zalmen Mlotek

Ashley Brown

Stephen Mear, Ashley Brown and Gavin Lee

Tommy Tune

Michael Mayer and Roger Waltzman

Michael Mayer and Martha Plimpton

Vanessa Redgrave

Linda Balgord

Orlagh Cassidy

Leann Lazar and Aaron Lazar

Capathia Jenkins

Capathia Jenkins and Brooks Ashmanskas

Mandy Gonzalez

Andrea Burns

Matt Castle

John Earl Jelks

Matthew Gumley and Kathryn Faughnan

Brandon Ruckdashel

Barbara Walsh and Jack Cummings

Christopher Jackson

Anthony Chisholm

Nilaja Sun

Michael Cerveris 

Marsha Mason and Terrence McNally

John Kander, Karen Ziemba and Rupert Holmes

David Pittu

T.R. Knight

Ali Ewoldt

Eve Best

Tamara Tunie

Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber

Bebe Neuwirth

John Wegorzewski and Anna Wilding

Kristin Chenoweth

Kristin Chenoweth

Kristin Chenoweth

Jerry Mitchell, Jack O'Brien and David Rockwell

David Hyde Pierce

Nicole Bocchi

Jason Daniely

Kevin Spacey

Billy Crudup

Mary-Mitchell Campbell and John Doyle

Audra McDonald

Donna Murphy

Jan Maxwell

Boyd Gaines with his wife

Debra Monk

Audrey Pendleton and Austin Pendleton

Raul Esparza

Raul Esparza and Michele Esparza

John Ortiz

Nell Benjamin and Larry O'Keefe

Frederick Weller

Frank Langella