Cast Recording Of GODSPELL Revival Gets 12/20 Release

By: Dec. 12, 2011
Get Show Info Info
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The New Broadway Cast Recording of the revival of GODSPELL will be released digitally on Tuesday, December 20, 2011 on Ghostlight Records. Produced by Stephen Schwartz, Michael Holland and Kurt Deutsch with Executive Producer Ken Davenport, the CD will be available in stores on Tuesday, January 31, 2012.

GODSPELL's Tony nominated score features music and lyrics by Academy and Grammy Award winner Stephen Schwartz., and features instantly recognizable hits including "Day by Day," "Turn Back, O Man," "Learn Your Lessons Well," "Prepare Ye," "Light of the World" and many more.

"I'm so happy with this recording," said Stephen Schwartz. "Not only do I love the new arrangements by Michael Holland, but this may be the best-singing cast in the history of GODSPELL!"

To hear song previews and to pre-order the CD, visit or

In advance of the Tuesday, December 20 digital release date, GODSPELL fans can hear full streaming audio of the song "Prepare Ye" beginning Monday, December 12 by visiting

The also CD includes a bonus track of "Beautiful City" as performed by John Ondrasik of Five for Fighting.

The complete listing for the New Broadway Cast Recording of GODSPELL is as follows:

1. Tower of Babble -- Company
2. Prepare Ye -- Wallace Smith and Company
3. Save the People -- Hunter Parrish and Company
4. Day by Day -- Anna Maria Perez de Tagle and Company
5. Learn Your Lessons Well -- Celisse Henderson and Company
6. Bless the Lord -- Lindsay Mendez and Company
7. All for the Best -- Hunter Parrish, Wallace Smith and Company
8. All Good Gifts -- Telly Leung and Company
9. Light of the World -- George Salazar and Company
10. Turn Back, O Man -- Morgan James and Company
11. Alas for You -- Hunter Parrish
12. By My Side -- Uzo Aduba and Company
13. We Beseech Thee -- Nick Blaemire and Company
14. Beautiful City -- Hunter Parrish
15. On the Willows -- Wallace Smith and the Band
16. Finale -- Hunter Parrish and Company

Bonus Tracks:

Beautiful City -- Performed by John Ondrasik of Five for Fighting
Learn Your Lessons Well (After Hours) -- Performed by Telly Leung,
Lindsay Mendez and Wallace Smith

The CD booklet contains full lyrics and liner notes from composer/lyricist Stephen Schwartz and from Paul Shaffer of "The Late Show with David Letterman," who served as the musical director of the original Broadway production of GODSPELL 40 years ago.

Directed by Daniel Goldstein and choreographed by Tony Award nominee Christopher Gattelli (South Pacific), GODSPELL stars an incredible and diverse company of 10 young actors, lead by Hunter Parrish as Jesus and Wallace Smith as Judas, and co-starring Uzo Aduba, Nick Blaemire, Celisse Henderson, Morgan James, Telly Leung, Lindsay Mendez, Anna Maria Perez de Tagle and George Salazar. Understudies are Joaquina Kalukango, Eric Michael Krop, Corey Mach and Julia Mattison.

The revival reunites Daniel Goldstein -- making his Broadway directorial debut -- and members of the design team from his critically-acclaimed 2006 Paper Mill Playhouse conception in a new production that has been completely re-imagined for the Circle in the Square, one of Broadway's most intimate, unique and versatile houses.

One of the most popular musicals in the world, GODSPELL originally ran for more than 2,600 performances in New York and spawned successful touring productions in major U.S. cities, a 1973 motion picture adaptation and countless international engagements for the past 40 years.

The new Broadway revival of GODSPELL is produced by Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Broadway Across America, Luigi Caiola, Rose Caiola, Edgar Lansbury, Mike McClernon, The Tolchin Family, Guillermo Wiechers & Juan Torres and The People of Godspell. Associate producers include Dennis Grimaldi Production, Todd Miller, Pivot Entertainment Group, Chris Welch and Cedric Yau.

GODSPELL features scenic design by David Korins (Passing Strange), costume design by Miranda Hoffman (Well), lighting design by David Weiner (The Normal Heart), sound design by Andrew Keister (Company), orchestrations by Michael Holland (Hurricane) and musical direction by Charlie Alterman (Next to Normal).

Visit GODSPELL online at

Vote Sponsor