Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

Miranda, Kurt Elling, Baby Jane Dexter & More Join Lineup Of 2010 Nightlife Awards 1/25 At Town Hall

Miranda, Kurt Elling, Baby Jane Dexter & More Join Lineup Of 2010 Nightlife Awards 1/25 At Town Hall

The line-up for the show that Stephen Holden of the NY Times called "The Nightclub world's equivalent of the Tony's" is fast becoming blindingly bright in its star appeal. The only All-Performance Award show in the world will present -- in performance -- the most outstanding performers in New York, chosen by the press, plus an amazing array of famous guest stars who will also perform. Among those now scheduled to perform at Town Hall in the 2010 NIGHTLIFE AWARDS are *KURT ELLING, *Christine Ebersole, *Cheyenne Jackson, MIRANDA, John Pizzarelli, Jessica Molaskey, *Eric Comstock & *Barbara Fasano, Tovah Feldshuh, Nellie McKay, James Barbour, *Baby Jane Dexter, *Johnny Rodgers, Jay Leonhart, *Gretchen Reinhagen, *Anne Steele, Jim Caruso, Martin Vidnovic, Howard Fishman, Noah Racey & THE NY TAP ENSEMBLE, AND MORE! [*denotes winners of 2010 Nightlife Awards]

Now in its 8th year, the Nightlife Awards has quickly become the most important and popular award show that promotes and presents New York's top nightclub talent in the most audience-friendly format ever conceived for an awards show. The reason? THERE ARE NO ACCEPTANCE SPEECHES! The winners perform to show why they were chosen! The show offers nothing less than bang-bang entertainment from an extraordinarily diverse group of talent that comes from the worlds of jazz, cabaret, and comedy.

The evening will be hosted by the Emmy-Award-Winning Bruce Vilanch, who is famous for, among a great many other things, writing the Academy Awards TV broadcasts, starring on Broadway in Hairspray, and playing the center square in TV's Hollywood Squares. The Nightlife Awards was created and is produced by Scott Siegel, who created Broadway by the Year for Town Hall, as well as creating and producing Broadway Unplugged, also at Town Hall. The show will be directed by Scott Thompson and musical directed by Tedd Firth.

Past winners of Nightlife Awards who have come to Town Hall to perform have included the late Alan King, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Elaine Stritch, John Pizzarelli & Jessica Molaskey, Freddy Cole, Robert Klein, Keely Smith, Lesley Gore, Ute Lemper, Kristen Chenoweth, Donna Murphy, Alice Ripley, Maureen McGovern, Bill Charlap, Tom Wopat, James Naughton, Dee Dee Bridgewater,
Mark Murphy, the late Eartha Kitt, and many, many more. Presenters have included Patti LuPone, Liza Minnelli, and the late film director, Robert Altman.

Sponsors include: ASCAP, The Edythe Kenner Foundation, Trattoria Dopo Teatro, Thoroughbred Records,, Jill & Irwin Cohen, Edith & Ervin Drake, Peter & Barbara Leavy, Peter Hanson, Fred Landau, Stuart E. Bloom and Robert L. Aaron: Lightstyles, LLC, and Steven T. Ernst.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...