Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

HAIR Broadway Cast Recording With Never Before Released Tracks Hits Stores 6/23

The new Broadway Cast Recording of the hit musical HAIR: The American Tribal Love-Rock Musical, featuring never-before-released tracks from the show's iconic score, will be available in stores beginning on Tuesday, June 23rd. The Ghostlight Records recording, featuring the 37-member cast and band, will also be released digitally via iTunes on May 26th. The album was recorded on Monday, April 6th at New York City's Legacy Studios and is produced by Kurt Deutsch and Joel Moss with Bill Rosenfield acting as Executive Producer.

One of the most iconic of Broadway scores, HAIR features more modern "hit" songs than any show in history: "Aquarius," "Let The Sun Shine In," "Easy To Be Hard," "Good Morning Starshine," and the title song became chart-topping hits, Grammy winners, Gold or Platinum records, or all of the above. The original Broadway cast recording of HAIR remains one of greatest selling pop albums of all time and among the most beloved in music history.

The new Broadway production of HAIR is nominated for eight 2009 Tony Awards, including Best Revival of a Musical, as well as eight Drama Desk Awards and three Drama League Awards. The Outer Critics Circle recently honored the production with its 2009 award for Outstanding Revival of a Musical.

Directed by Diane Paulus and choreographed by Karole Armitage, HAIR features a book and lyrics by Gerome Ragni and James Rado and music by Galt MacDermot.

The full cast of HAIR includes Sasha Allen, Ato Blankson-Woo, Steel Burkhardt, Jackie Burns, Briana Carlson-Goodman, Allison Case, Gavin Creel, Lauren Elder, Allison Guinn, Chasten Harmon, Anthony Hollock, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Kaitlin Kiyan, Andrew Kober, Josh Lamon, Megan Lawrence, Caissie Levy, Nicole Lewis, Ryan Link, John Moauro, Darius Nichols, Brandon Pearson, Paris Remillard, Megan Reinking, Bryce Ryness, Michael James Scott, Saycon Sengbloh, Maya Sharpe, Kacie Sheik, Theo Stockman, Will Swenson and Tommar Wilson.

The HAIR band, a veritable Who's Who of New York musicians, includes Nadia DiGiallonardo (Conductor/Keyboard), Lon Hoyt (Assistant Conductor/Keyboard), Steve Bargonetti (Guitar), Andrew Schwartz (Guitar), Wilbur Bascomb (Bass), Allen Won (Woodwinds), Elaine Burt (Trumpet), Ronald Buttacavoli (Trumpet), Christian Jaudes (Trumpet), Vincent MacDermot (Trombone), Joe Cardello (Percussion), and Bernard Purdie (Drums).

Ghostlight Records has emerged as the standard bearer on the Broadway music scene. Their recent releases on the OCRs for Tony winners In The Heights and Passing Strange, as well as their single release featuring the winner of MTV's Legally Blonde The Musical competition, have brought them acclaim for their innovative marketing techniques and their efforts to reach the next generation of Broadway music fans via iTunes, music videos and more. The label (and President Kurt Deutsch) recently earned their first ever GRAMMY AWARD for In The Heights. Coverage has ranged from Rolling Stone to USA Today to The New York Times, from Blender Magazine to Playbill to Billboard, from AP Radio to Entertainment Weekly, from New York Magazine to Variety to NY-1 TV, from Time Out NY to Paper Magazine to The Advocate and much more. Other current releases include the OCR for 13 - The New Broadway Musical, and a double CD collector's edition of Reefer Madness. Their release of Patti LuPone at Les Mouches received expansive and wildly favorable media coverage. They recently released Sutton Foster's solo CD Wish, and the OCR for the new Broadway musical Next To Normal.

HAIR is presented on Broadway by The Public Theater (Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director; Andrew D. Hamingson, Executive Director) Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Gary Goddard Entertainment, Kathleen K. Johnson, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Fran Kirmser Productions/Jed Bernstein, Marc Frankel, Broadway Across America, Barbara Manocherian/WenCarLar Productions, JK Productions/Terry Schnuck, Andy Sandberg, Jam Theatricals, The Weinstein Company/Norton Herrick, Jujamcyn Theaters, and Joey Parnes by special arrangement with Elizabeth Ireland McCann.

The track list will be as follows:

1) Aquarius
2) Donna
3) Hashish
4) Sodomy
5) Colored Spade
6) Manchester, England
7) I'm Black / Ain't Got No
8) Sheila Franklin / I Believe In Love
9) Ain't Got No Grass
10) Air
11) Kama Sutra / The Stone Age
12) I Got Life
13) Initials
14) Going Down
15) Hair
16) My Conviction
17) Easy to be Hard
18) Don't Put It Down
19) Frank Mills
20) Hare Krishna / Be-In
21) Where Do I Go?
22) Electric Blues
23) Oh Great God of Power / Manchester, England [Reprise]
24) Black Boys
25) White Boys
26) Walking in Space
27) Minuet / African Drums
28) Yes, I's Finished on Y'All's Farmlands
29) Four Score / Abie Baby
30) Give Up All Desires / Hail Mary / Roll Call
31) Three-Five-Zero-Zero
32) What a Piece of Work is Man / How Dare They Try
33) Good Morning Starshine
34) Aquarius Goodnights / Ain't Got No / Yip Up The Sun
35) The Flesh Failures / Eyes Look Your Last / Let the Sun Shine In
36) Curtain Call: Hair [Reprise]
37) Curtain Call: Let The Sun Shine In [Reprise]


Related Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Phil Wang Announces UK and Ireland Leg of World Tour For Spring 2023Phil Wang Announces UK and Ireland Leg of World Tour For Spring 2023
October 5, 2022

Following releasing his first critically acclaimed Netflix stand-up special and book, plus subsequently touring in the USA and at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival, Montreal's Just For Laughs Comedy Festival and the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, Phil Wang (That's My Time with David Letterman, Late Night with Seth Meyers, Live At The Apollo) announces the UK & Ireland leg of his world tour for Spring 2023.

Disney's BEAUTY AND THE BEAST Comes to Palo Alto Players in NovemberDisney's BEAUTY AND THE BEAST Comes to Palo Alto Players in November
October 5, 2022

Palo Alto Players invites you to “Be Our Guest” as the company continues its 92nd season with the hit Broadway musical Disney's BEAUTY AND THE BEAST. Based on the Disney animated film, the stage version of this tale as old as time has been enchanting audiences around the world for over two decades.

Sarasota Orchestra and Van Wezel Co-Present Hurricane Ian Relief Concert On FridaySarasota Orchestra and Van Wezel Co-Present Hurricane Ian Relief Concert On Friday
October 5, 2022

Sarasota Orchestra and the Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall announce a special concert with proceeds to benefit Hurricane Ian recovery efforts. The performance will be held this Friday, October 7, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall.

SpeakEasy Stage Company Presents ENGLISH This MonthSpeakEasy Stage Company Presents ENGLISH This Month
October 5, 2022

From October 21 to November 19, 2022, SpeakEasy Stage Company will present the Boston premiere of ENGLISH, Sanaz Toossi’s award-winning play.

Special Guest & Prizes Announced For GHOSTS OF PLACER COUNTY Final WeekendSpecial Guest & Prizes Announced For GHOSTS OF PLACER COUNTY Final Weekend
October 5, 2022

While opening week included a lively and enthusiastically received performance from Fenix Drum and Dance Company, closing week for the world premiere of Ghosts of Placer County October 7 and 8 includes prize drawings and special guest speaker from the Law Office of Amanda L. Rocha in Roseville.