Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

'Celebrity Charades' Tonight, Limited Standing-Room

Just as the one time of year when taking candy from strangers and dressing up in strange costumes is overlooked as run-of-the-mill, LAByrinth Theater Company gets ready for its annual charity showdown - "Celebrity Chrades". Produced in part by GQ Magazine, DKNY, and Stella Artois, LAByrinth Theater Company invokes the theme The Battle of Good vs. Evil for its 2007 event taking place on Monday, October 29 at St. Paul's Hall (60th Street and Columbus Avenue). The event is SOLD OUT with a limited number of standing room tickets available at the door for $125 per person and will be accommodated on a space-available basis only.

Each of four teams of celebrities will battle it out on stage to benefit LAByrinth Theater Company's upcoming 2007/08 season. Three rounds of charades will be played over 90 minutes with a star-studded cast that includes Bob Balaban, Bobby Cannavale, Erika Christiansen, Billy Crudup, Rachel Dratch, Craig "muMs" Grant, Noah Emmerich, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Richard Kind, Julianna Margulies, Mary Stuart Masterson, Andie MacDowell, Christopher Meloni, John Ortiz, Martha Plimpton, Cynthia Rowley, Andre Royo, Daphne Rubin-Vega, George Wendt, Yul Vazquez and David Zayas.

Opening this year's "Celebrity Charades" festivities, The Dave Hoghe Award will be presented to Bennington College for its artistic support of and dedication to LAByrinth Theater Company. Past recipients of the award have included Madonna, George C. Wolfe, Ira Pittelman and Daryl Roth. Also preceding the games, an auction will feature money-can't-buy experiences such as a Theater Package including tickets to the Tony Awards, tickets to see Legally Blonde, tickets and backstage tours for A Catered Affair and Hairspray, plus opening night tickets for Conversations in Tusculum, as well as dinner at the famous Sardi's; and a Charades Package awarding the auction winner an opportunity to play alongside the participating celebrities the night of the event!

LAByrinth Theater Company's 07/08 season includes the current production A View from 151st Street by Bob Glaudini, directed by Peter DuBois; and the upcoming productions: Unconditional by Brett C. Leonard, directed by MarK Wing-Davey (winter 2008); The Little Flower of East Orange (a co-production with The Public Theater) by Stephen Adly Guirgis, directed by Philip Seymour Hoffman (spring 2008); Penalties & Interest by Rebecca Cohen, directed by John Gould Rubin (spring 2008); and Sweet Storm by Scott Hudson, directed by Padraic Lillis (spring 2008).  The season also includes two free play-reading festivals: The Barn Series (December 2007) and Live Nude Plays (winter 2008).

The 2007/08 season marks LAByrinth's 16th season and its fifth year in residence at The Public Theater. Founded in 1992 by a group of actors who wanted to push their artistic limits and create new plays that truly reflected their heritage and experience, LAByrinth today is comprised of almost 100 established and emerging theater artists from a wide array of cultural perspectives. An inclusive, multicultural ensemble that encourages all members to write, act direct and design, LAByrinth supports multidisciplinary growth and exploration in the creation of daring new work that celebrates the diversity of its New York City home. Under the leadership of Artistic Director John Ortiz and co-Artistic Directors Philip Seymour Hoffman and John Gould Rubin, LAByrinth has developed hundreds of plays and staged 48 world premieres. Learn more about LAByrinth Theater Company at

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You