Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Amanda Peet, Katie Finneran & More to Co-Chair HB Studio's 70th Anniversary Benefit; Peter Gallagher to Host


HB Studio, one of New York's original acting schools, will kick off its 70th anniversary celebration at 7 p.m. on November 3 with a benefit dinner at the Manhattan Penthouse. The event, hosted by actor Peter Gallagher, will celebrate the school's seven decades of work, its impact on the New York City theatre scene, and the enduring legacy of founder Herbert Berghof and master teacher Uta Hagen. The evening will also include a 90th birthday salute to faculty member Edward Morehouse. Special guests Christopher Abbott, Barbara Barrie, Richard Easton, and Leonardo Nam will join the evening's program to help celebrate this milestone achievement. The proceeds raised from this annual fundraising event will support HB Studio programs dedicated to serving new and established theatre artists. To learn more or to purchase tickets, visit No tickets will be sold at the door.

"We're excited to kick-off our 70th anniversary year, and with these distinguished and accomplished HB friends to celebrate the extraordinary roster of theater artists who are part and proof of our enduring legacy," said HB Studio Executive and Artistic Director Edith Meeks. "For seven decades HB Studio has fulfilled an important role in the creative development of thousands of actors, and today we continue to serve as a vital and necessary resource for the professional and aspiring theater community."

The evening will include a 90th birthday salute to faculty member Edward Morehouse, who studied with Herbert Berghof and Uta Hagen. Mr. Morehouse started with HB in 1952 as a student and began teaching at the Studio in 1957. He made his stage debut in The Good Woman of Setzuan, starring Hagen. His acting credits include This Side of Paradise, Lucky in the Arthur Storch production of Waiting for Godot, The Pawnbroker, and the Harrison translation of Molière's The Misanthrope.

Last year's event raised nearly $100,000 and helped support scholarships for needy students, professional artist services and opportunities, exploratory performance projects, and the development of new work. Past honorees include Katie Finneran and Tony Walton (2013), Lee Grant and Amanda Peet (2012), David Hyde Pierce and Eric Bentley (2011), Jerry Stiller and Anne Meara (2008), Fritz Weaver (2007), and Austin Pendleton (2006).

Past Honorary and Benefit Committee members include Alec Baldwin, Joy Behar, Melissa Errico, Cynthia Nixon, Sarah Paulson, theatre producer Hal Prince, Marlo Thomas, and theatre and film director Jerry Zaks.

Photo Credit: Jennifer Broski

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You