2005 Lortel Nominees Announced - Doubt, Hurlyburly, Intimate Apparel, Altar Boyz and Spelling Bee Lead Pack

The League Of Off-Broadway Theatres And Producers is proud to announce the nominations for THE 20TH ANNUAL LUCILLE LORTEL AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OFF-BROADWAY, which will be presented on Monday, May 2nd at Dodger Stages (340 West 50th Street) at 7 PM. A late night supper will follow at Ruth's Chris Steak House (148 West 51st Street). A cocktail reception to congratulate all of the nominees will be held on April 18th at Ruby Foo's Uptown (2182 Broadway at 77th Street).

This year will mark the 20th anniversary of The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, created in 1985 by resolution of The League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, to recognize outstanding achievement on Off-Broadway stages.

At the celebration this year will be performances by the nominees for Outstanding Musical, as well as commemorations of the milestone year. Dodger Stages (499 seats) provides more seats to accommodate increased attendance by both the industry and the public. A limited number of tickets, for the ceremony only, will go on sale to the public at $65 each through the Dodger Stages Box Office and (212-239-6200), beginning April 5th. Doubt, Hurlyburly and Intimate Apparel top the list of shows with multiple nominations, receiving five each; Altar Boyz and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee follow with four nominations each; Hedda Gabler, Nine Parts of Desire and Shockheaded Peter each received three.

Two special awards will also be presented:

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence:
Frances Sternhagen

Outstanding Body of Work:
The Irish Repertory Theatre

The 2005 Lucille Lortel Awards nominating/voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and also includes journalists, educators, and other artistic contributors to Off-Broadway. Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund. Major Sponsors: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Ketel One Vodka, Geyser Peak Wines, HX Magazine, Discover Card; Additional Sponsors: Glaceau, TheMenEvent.Com, HotNYCDeals.


Outstanding Play
After Ashley
By Gina Gionfriddo
Producer: Vineyard Theatre

By John Patrick Shanley
Producer: Manhattan Theatre Club

Going to St. Ives
By Lee Blessing
Producer: Primary Stages

Intimate Apparel
By Lynn Nottage
Producer: Roundabout Theatre Company

Orson's Shadow
By Austin Pendleton
Producer: PlanetEarth Partners and Scott Morfee

Outstanding Musical
Altar Boyz
Book by Kevin Del Aguila, Music & Lyrics by Gary Adler and Michael Patrick Walker, Conceived by Ken Davenport & Marc Kessler Producer: Ken Davenport and Robyn Goodman, in association with Walt Grossman, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, Matt Murphy and Mark Shacket

Junie B. Jones
Book and Lyrics by Marcy Heisler, Music by Zina Goldrich
Producer: TheatreworksUSA

Lone Star Love
Conceived and Adapted by John L. Haber, Music and Lyrics by Jack Herrick
Producer: Amas Musical Theatre

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Music and Lyrics by William Finn, Book by Rachel Sheinkin, Conceived by Rebecca Feldman
Producer: Second Stage Theatre

Outstanding Solo Show
Nine Parts of Desire
Starring and Written by Heather Raffo
Produced by Manhattan Ensemble Theater

The Two and Only
Starring and Written by Jay Johnson
Produced by Atlantic Theater Company in association with Roger Alan Gindi, Stewart F. Lane & Bonnie Conley, Dan Whitten, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, WetRock Entertainment

Outstanding Revival
By Elmer Rice
Produced by Peccadillo Theater Company

By W. S. Gilbert
Produced by Theatre for A New Audience

Finian's Rainbow
Book by E.Y. Harburg and Fred Saidy, Music by Burton Lane, Lyrics by E.Y. Harburg Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre

Hedda Gabler
By Henrik Ibsen, Translation by Christopher Hampton
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

By David Rabe
Produced by The New Group

Outstanding Director
Jo Bonney, Fat Pig
Scott Elliott, Hurlyburly
Doug Hughes, Doubt
James Lapine, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Daniel Sullivan, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Choreographer
Christopher Gattelli, Altar Boyz
Devanand Janki, Junie B. Jones
Dan Knechtges, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Barry McNabb, Finian's Rainbow
Randy Skinner, Lone Star Love

Outstanding Lead Actor
Larry Bryggman, Romance
Ethan Hawke, Hurlyburly
Brían F. O'Byrne, Doubt
John Rubinstein, Counsellor-At-Law
Jeffrey Wright, This Is How It Goes

Outstanding Lead Actress
Ashlie Atkinson, Fat Pig
Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel
Cherry Jones, Doubt
Judy Kaye, Souvenir
Elizabeth Marvel, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Featured Actor
Kevin Cahoon, The Foreigner
Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Josh Hamilton, Hurlyburly
Logan Marshall-Green, The Distance From Here
Tyler Maynard, Altar Boyz

Outstanding Featured Actress
Jenn Harris, Modern Orthodox
Adriane Lenox, Doubt
Alison Pill, On the Mountain
Parker Posey, Hurlyburly
Jennifer Simard, Forbidden Broadway: SVU

Outstanding Scenic Design
Julian Crouch & Graeme Gilmour, Shockheaded Peter
Antje Ellermann, Nine Parts of Desire
Derek McLane, Intimate Apparel
Neil Patel, Between Us
Jan Versweyved, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Costume Design
Alvin Colt, Forbidden Broadway: SVU
Anna Hannikainen, Slava's Snowshow
Kevin Pollard, Shockheaded Peter
Anita Yavich, Švejk
Catherine Zuber, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Belle Epoque
Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer, Dessa Rose
Jon Linstrum, Shockheaded Peter
James Vermeulen, Mr. Fox: A Rumination
David Weiner, Rodney's Wife

Outstanding Sound Design
Obadiah Eaves, Nine Parts of Desire
Scott Lehrer, Dessa Rose
Simon Matthews, Altar Boyz
Darron L. West, Hot 'n' Throbbing
Darron L. West, The Last Days of Judas Iscariot


Five nominations
Intimate Apparel

Four nominations
Altar Boyz
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Three nominations
Hedda Gabler
Nine Parts of Desire
Shockheaded Peter

Two nominations
Dessa Rose
Fat Pig
Finian's Rainbow
Forbidden Broadway: SVU
Junie B. Jones
Lone Star Love
Darron L. West

Zoey's Playlist on NBC

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Actors' Equity Association Releases Statement Regarding WEST SIDE STORY
Actors' Equity Association released the following statement after a report in the New York Times that members of West Side Story have become concerned... (read more)

VIDEO: MRS. DOUBTFIRE Cast Reacts To Rob McClure in Costume
Mrs. Doubtfire's Rob McClure posted a teaser video on his Instagram of the first time the cast saw him in his prosthetics! Watch below to see the proc... (read more)

Photo Flash: First Look at Ivo van Hove's WEST SIDE STORY on Broadway!
Tomorrow is the big night! Tony Award winner Ivo van Hove's new production of West Side Story will open Thursday, February 20, at the Broadway Theatre... (read more)

Photo Flash: PRINCE OF EGYPT Cast Poses For All New Portraits
THE PRINCE OF EGYPT, the brand-new musical that is now in previews at London's Dominion Theatre, has released a series of principal cast character por... (read more)

SIX Hits 100,000,000 Spotify and Apple Music Streams; Second Only to HAMILTON in Musical Theatre Genre
Producers of Six have revealed that it has been streamed 100,000,000 times on Spotify and Apple Music.... (read more)

Photo Flash: First Look at THE PRINCE OF EGYPT in the West End
Brand-new musical THE PRINCE OF EGYPT is now in previews at London's Dominion Theatre. Get a first look at the cast in action in the photographs below... (read more)