NEW YORK CITY
Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

NYC Festivals Announce Their Lineups

May 4
2:48 PM 2011
NYC-Festivals-Announce-Their-Lineups-20010101

Stern Grove Festival, an idyllic outdoor park with great natural acoustics right in the city: http://www.sterngrove.org/

Sunday, June 19: Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings and Ben L'Oncle Soul
Sunday, June 26: Jazz Mafia Symphony featuring Chali 2na
Sunday, July 3: Neko Case and The Dodos
Sunday, July 10: Afrocubism and Pellejo Seco
Sunday, July 17: The English Beat and My First Earthquake
Sunday, July 24: San Francisco Symphony
Sunday, July 31: San Francisco Ballet
Sunday, August 7: Aaron Neville and Quinn Deveaux and The Blue Beat Review
Sunday, August 14: Javier Limon featuring Buika, La Shica, and Sandra Carrasco
Sunday, August 21: San Francisco Opera

Grand Performances, taking advantage of the architectural uniqueness of California Plaza right in downtown Los Angeles: http://www.grandperformances.org

Friday, June 17: Department of Cultural Affairs Artists Project: Ian Ruskin, Sheetal Gandhi
Saturday, June 18: Tongue and Groove
Sunday, June 19: Embers, A Jazz Opera in Poems (concert reading of a work-in-progress)
Friday, June 24: Charles Phoenix in Los Angelesland
Saturday, June 25: Crime After Crime
Sunday, June 26: Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm
Thursday July 7: Diavolo Dance Theater and Noruz (in English)
Friday, July 8: Diavolo Dance Theater and Noruz (in Spanish)
Friday, July 8: Mr. Little Jeans
Saturday, July 9: 25th Anniversary Fundraiser One Night, One World, One Stage
Friday, July 15: Los Angeles Electric 8
Friday, July 15: Seun Kuti & Egypt 80
Saturday, July 16: Baloji and Tasneem
Thursday, July 21: Traveling Pickle Factory with Rabbi Shmuel Marcus
Friday, July 22: Meklit Hadero
Friday, July 22: Fania Records' Africa Caribe by Joaquin "Joe" Claussell and Palenke Soultribe
Saturday, July 23: Build an Ark and Pan Afrikan People's Arkestra
Friday, July 29: Shoghaken Ensemble
Friday, July 29: Blitz the Ambassador and Malverde with Maleco Collective
Saturday, July 30: Shoghaken Ensemble and Tigran
Thursday, August 4: The House of Quality: Boyle Heights and The Music of Democracy
Friday, August 5: Quartetto Fantastico
Friday, August 5: Quartetto Fantastico and Chez Quartet
Saturday, August 6: Watcha Clan and Yemen Blues
Friday, August 12: Mariachi Rock-O
Friday, August 12: Mariachi Rock-O and Mariachi Mystery Tour
Saturday, August 13: Sussan Deyhim
Thursday, August 18: Indian Ink Theatre Company presents the Guru of Chai
Friday, August 19: Indian Ink Theatre Company presents the Guru of Chai
Friday, August 19: I See Hawks in L.A.
Saturday, August 20: Exene & Phranc
Friday, August 26: Chicano Batman
Friday, August 26: From Roots to Fruits: A Tribute to the Music of Quincy Jones
Saturday, August 27: A Night at The Phillips Music Company
Sunday, September: Galeet Dardashti

SummerStage, offering shows at 18 parks across the five boroughs of New York: http://www.summerstage.org/

Mainstage, Central Park
Tuesday, June 07: Night at The Caravanserai Tales of Wonder featuring: Yo-Yo Ma, The Silk Road Ensemble, Silkroad Connect Students and Friends (concert)
Saturday, June 11: Blue Note Jazz Festival: Medeski Martin & Wood / Josh Roseman & The King Froopy Allstars / Jim Black's AlasNoAxis (concert)
Friday, June 17: Istanbulive III: Sounds of Civilizations Zülfü Livaneli / maNga and special guests (concert)
Sunday, June 19: 9th Cine Fest Petrobras Brasil NY: Mart'nália (concert); Screening: "ELZA" (film)
Tuesday, June 21: Fête De La Musique: Ben L'Oncle Soul (concert); Screening: "Gainsbourg and His Girls" (film)
Wednesday, June 22: Reggie Watts / Natasha Leggero (word)
Saturday, June 25: Lee Fields & The Expressions / Fitz & The Tantrums / Andreya Triana / Rich Medina (concert)
Sunday, June 26: Hugh Masekela / Freshlyground / Somi (concert)
Tuesday, June 28: The Moth, hosted by Andy Borowitz, with stories by Pam Grier, and other special guests (word)
Wednesday, June 29: Comedy Central Park starring Jim Gaffigan with special guest John Pinette (comedy)
Saturday, July 02: "Everybody Loves The Sunshine" Roy Ayers and The Jazz Mafia Symphony plus special guests (concert)
Sunday, July 03: RAM / Group Doueh / Baloji / GlobeSonic Sound System (concert)
Wednesday, July 06: Jarabe de Palo / Ely Guerra / Novalima / Mr. Pauer (concert)
Saturday, July 09: ChocQuibTown / Rita Indiana / Ursula 1000 / Que Bajo?! (concert)
Monday, July 11: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)
Friday, July 15: Armitage Gone! Dance and special musical guest Vijay Iyer with Dance Grand Moultrie (dance)
Saturday, July 16: Armitage Gone! Dance and special musical guest Vijay Iyer with Dance Grand Moultrie (dance)
Sunday, July 17: Pink Martini (concert)
Saturday, July 23: Keigwin + Company with Creative Outlet Dance Theatre of Brooklyn (dance)
Sunday, July 24: Marcelo D2 / Pitty / DJ Nuts (concert)
Wednesday, July 27: Wanda Jackson / Imelda May (concert)
Saturday, July 30: Forces of Nature Dance Theatre with Cecilia Marta Dance Company (dance)
Sunday, July 31: Yemen Blues / Watcha Clan / Shabate / Awesome Tapes from Africa (concert)
Saturday, August 06: Shelebration! A Tribute to the Works of Shel Silverstein, produced by Hal Willner (concert, poetry)
Sunday, August 07: Friendly Fires / The Naked And Famous / Cults (concert)
Wednesday, August 10: Joe Bataan / Johnny Colón / DJ Turmix (concert); Screening: "We Like It Like That - The Story of Latin Boogaloo" (film)
Saturday, August 13: Henry Santos (concert)
Sunday, August 14: Gospel Explosion featuring Donald Lawrence and special guests, hosted By Hezekiah Walker (concert)
Wednesday, August 17: Sangre By Mando Alvardo Directed by Jerry Ruiz (theater)
Saturday, August 20: Tiken Jah Fakoly / Meta and the Cornerstones / Los Rakas (concert)
Sunday, August 21: Rakim, EPMD and Funkmaster Flex (concert)
Sunday, August 28: Jagged Edge / Avant / Melanie Fiona (concert)

Betsy Head Memorial Playground
Tuesday, June 07: "Salute to Hip-Hop" featuring EPMD / Funkmaster Flex (concert)
Wednesday, June 08: Special Ed (concert)
Thursday, June 09: B.T. Express / Rhythm Revue with Felix Hernandez (concert)

Herbert Von King Park
Friday, June 10: Passion of Tap (dance)
Saturday, June 11: Shlank Squad, Elite Force and Ladies of Hip-Hop with MAWU (dance)
Tuesday, June 14: Tye Tribett (concert)
Wednesday, June 15: Nice and Smooth and The Awesome 2 (concert)
Thursday, June 16: Jon B / Olivia (concert)
Friday, June 17: Indomitable: James Brown Featuring Burnt Sugar The Arkestra Chamber and Brandon Victor Dixon (theater)
Saturday, June 18: "Indomitable: James Brown" featuring Burnt Sugar / The Arkestra Chamber / Brandon Victor Dixon (theater)

Red Hook Park
Tuesday, June 21: Talib Kweli (concert)
Wednesday, June 22: Ozomatli (concert)
Thursday, June 23: We Are Scientists / Milagres (concert)
Friday, June 24: Reggie Watts / DJ Stormin' Norman (concert)
Saturday, June 25: Dance Grand Moultrie with Malcolm Low/ Formal Structure Inc. (dance)

Soundview Park
Tuesday, June 28: "Salute to Hip-Hop" featuring Funkmaster Flex and special guests (concert)
Wednesday, June 29: Larry Harlow and Latin Legends Band (concert)
Thursday, June 30: Hector Tricoche / Chris Alfinez (concert)

St. Mary's Park
Friday, July 01: Pasión y Arte with On Tap (dance)
Saturday, July 02: OPUS Dance Theater with Dance IQUAIL! (dance)
Tuesday, July 05: Lavoe All Stars Cantando Renzo Padilla / 8 y Más (concert)
Wednesday, July 06: Tony Vega (concert)
Thursday, July 07: Ray Sepulveda / Chris Alfinez (concert)
Friday, July 08: "Sangre" By Mando Alvardo, Directed by Jerry Ruiz, Adapted from Blood Wedding By Federico García Lorca (theater)
Saturday, July 09: "Sangre" By Mando Alvardo, Directed by Jerry Ruiz, Adapted from Blood Wedding By Federico García Lorca (theater)

Crotona Park
Tuesday, July 12: Slick Rick / DJ Brucie B (concert)
Wednesday, July 13: Xcstacy (concert)
Friday, July 15: "Sangre" By Mando Alvardo, Directed by Jerry Ruiz, Adapted from Blood Wedding By Federico García Lorca (theater)
Saturday, July 16: "Sangre" By Mando Alvardo, Directed by Jerry Ruiz, Adapted from Blood Wedding By Federico García Lorca (theater)
Sunday, July 17: The Manhattans / Rhythm Revue with Felix Hernandez (concert)
Tuesday, July 19: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)

Brooklyn Bridge Park
Wednesday, July 13: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)

Queensbridge Park
Tuesday, July 19: Kool Moe Dee (concert)
Wednesday, July 20: Harold Melvin's Blue Notes / Rhythm Revue with Felix Hernandez (concert)
Thursday, July 21: "Salute to Hip-Hop" featuring Funkmaster Flex and special guests (concert)
Friday, July 22: Creative Outlet Dance Theatre of Brooklyn / Waheed Works (dance)

Clove Lakes Park
Thursday, July 21: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)

Springfield Park
Tuesday, July 26: Queens Donell Jones / Olivia (concert)
Wednesday, July 27: Hezekiah Walker (concert)
Thursday, July 28: Chrisette Michele (concert)
Friday, July 29: "Tunde's Trumpet" By Chisa Hutchinson, Directed By Kristin Horton (musical theater)
Saturday, July 30: "Tunde's Trumpet" By Chisa Hutchinson, Directed By Kristin Horton (musical theater)

Socrates Sculpture Park
Tuesday, July 26: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)

Jackie Robinson Park
Thursday, July 28: The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series (concert)

Tappen Park
Tuesday, August 02: Sugarhill Gang (concert)
Wednesday, August 03: The Budos Band (concert)
Thursday, August 04: Andy Cooney (concert)

Marcus Garvey Park
Friday, August 05: "Henry V" By William Shakespeare (theater)
Saturday, August 06: "Henry V" By William Shakespeare (theater)
Sunday, August 07: "Tunde's Trumpet" By Chisa Hutchinson, Directed By Kristin Horton (musical theater)
Monday, August 08: "Tunde's Trumpet" By Chisa Hutchinson, Directed By Kristin Horton (musical theater)
Tuesday, August 09: "Salute to Hip-Hop" featuring Rob Base / Funkmaster Flex (concert)
Wednesday, August 10: Vashawn Mitchell (concert)
Thursday, August 11: Ryan Leslie (concert)
Friday, August 12: Forces of Nature Dance Theatre / THE DASH Ensemble (dance)
Saturday, August 13: Cecilia Marta Dance Company with Francine E. Ott / The Walk (dance)
Saturday, August 27: The Charlie Parker Jazz Festival featuring Toots Thielemans / James Carter / Tia Fuller / Cécile McLorin Salvant (concert)

Highbridge Park
Tuesday, August 16: Bachata Heightz (concert)
Wednesday, August 17: Henry Santos (concert)
Thursday, August 18: Andy Andy (concert)

East River Park
Friday, August 19: dre.dance / WHITE WAVE Young Soon Kim Dance Company (dance)
Saturday, August 20: Step Afrika! / Border Crossing Collective
Tuesday, August 23: Tito Rojas (concert)
Wednesday, August 24: The Cold Crush Brothers (concert)
Thursday, August 25: Wavves (concert)
Saturday, August 27: "Henry V" By William Shakespeare (theater)
Sunday, August 28: "Henry V" By William Shakespeare (theater)
Monday, August 29: "Henry V" By William Shakespeare (theater)
Tuesday, August 30: "Oedipus Rex" By Sophocles (theater)
Wednesday, August 31: "Seven Against Thebes" By Aeschylus (theater)
Thursday, September 1: "Oedipus Rex" (theater)
Friday, September 2: "Seven Against Thebes" By Aeschylus (theater)

Tompkins Square Park
Sunday, August 28: The Charlie Parker Jazz Festival featuring Archie Shepp Quartet / Madeleine Peyroux / Ali Jackson / The Gerald Clayton Trio (concert)

Related Articles




BROADWAYWORLD TV

Matilda the Musical in San FranciscoMatilda the Musical
San Jose Center for the Performing Arts
(Runs 3/7 - 3/12)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time in San FranciscoThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Golden Gate Theatre
(Runs 6/27 - 7/23)
GHOST
OMG, I Love That Show! Productions
(Runs 10/7 - 11/6)
The Village Bike
Shotgun Players
(Runs 5/25 - 12/21)
The King and I in San FranciscoThe King and I
Golden Gate Theatre
(Runs 11/15 - 12/11)

VIEW ALL ADD A SHOW AUDITIONS

Save $$$ on Tickets to:
Backstage with Richard Ridge
Back to Falsettoland w/ OBC - Passing the Torch
Backstage Bite
TV Exclusive: BACKSTAGE BITE with ALADDIN's Rodney Ingram!
Turning the Tables
Binge on TURNING THE TABLES!
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
TV:-LuPone's Autobio - Lands EVITA!
KID CRITICS
TV: KID CRITICS Swept Away at PHANTOM
BROADWAY SESSIONS
BWW TV Exclusive: THE LION KING Cast Roars at Broadway Sessions