Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

Alvin Ailey Presents Free Workshop, Gala Benefit with Venessa Williams Today

Alvin Ailey Presents Free Workshop, Gala Benefit with Venessa Williams Today

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater's two-week spring engagement at Lincoln Center's David H. Koch Theater kicks off in an exceptional way today, June 11th with a free workshop - Revelations Celebration on the Plaza - followed by The Ailey Spirit Gala, a one-night-only benefit performance and party.

Beginning at 5:30pm, Revelations Celebration on the Plaza will give participants of all ages a rare opportunity to experience a grand dance workshop celebrating Alvin Ailey's signature American masterpiece, and marking the 25th season since the legendary founder's passing. The special activity will be led by Ailey master teacher and former Company member Nasha Thomas-Schmitt, who will teach movements from three distinctive sections ofRevelations: "I've Been 'Buked," "Wade in the Water," and "Rocka My Soul." Live music with drummer and singers will be featured at the event

The inaugural Ailey Spirit Gala benefit performance at 7pm includes the world-renowned Ailey dancers in excerpts of Wayne McGregor's Chroma, Aszure Barton's LIFT, and a new production of David Parsons' signature solo, Caught. The rising stars of Ailey II will perform an excerpt of Jennifer Archibald's Wings, gifted young dancers from The Ailey School (ages 6 to 23) will showcase their talents and the breadth of the program's training inSynthesis II, and talented students from AileyCamp will perform a work inspired by Ronald K. Brown's Grace. An expanded cast of 50 of the present and future stars of Ailey will come together for a memorable finale of Alvin Ailey's timeless, Revelations. Following the performance, a dance party on the promenade will feature the musical stylings of deejay to the stars, DJ M.O.S.

Related Articles

BWW Reviews: THE LOOK OF FEELING Moves at Steps BeyondBWW Reviews: THE LOOK OF FEELING Moves at Steps Beyond

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

BWW Reviews: The Mikhailovsky Ballet's GISELLEBWW Reviews: The Mikhailovsky Ballet's GISELLE
by Barnett Serchuk