Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

GROOVE THEORY with Monica Huggett to Play GEMS Series at St. Peter's Church, 3/21

Related: GEMS, Gotham Early Music Scene

New York Baroque Incorporated - Groove Theory: A Folk Journey with Monica Huggett, will be presented by Gotham Early Music Scene (GEMS) on Thursday, March 21, 2013 at 1:15pm at Saint Peter's Lutheran Church, 619 Lexington Avenue (at 54th Street), New York, NY.

The free concert will feature: Violin: Tatiana Chulochnikova, Owen Dalby, Liv Heym, Nanae Iwata, Daniel Lee, Francis Liu, Maureen Murchie, Adriane Post, Beth Wenstrom, Jude Ziliak; Viola: Daniel McCarthy, Kyle Miller, Nathan Schram; Cello: Hannah Collins, Ezra Seltzer; Bass: Wen Yang; Harpsichord: Jeffrey Grossman; Bassoon: Clay Zeller-Townson;; Percussion: Luke Rinderknecht.

NYBI will explore the styles of jazz, rock, and folk in the music of Vivaldi (violin concerto "Il Favorito"), Telemann (Ouverture-Suite "Burlesque de Quixotte") and Muffat (Armonico tributo Sonata No. 2). Also featured is Groove Theory, a concerto by jazz violinist Hollis Taylor composed for eminent baroque violinist Monica Huggett. Groove Theory features a fusion of jazz, rock, blues, and folk styles, all written idiomatically for Baroque stringed instruments with percussion, re-contextualizing both the sonorities of the baroque orchestra and 20th-century idioms, taking the listener on an extraordinary cultural journey.

Midtown Concerts offers workers in midtown as well as the general public the opportunity to enjoy high-quality performances of music of the Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque periods in a convenient, comfortable, acoustically superb venue. Tickets are not necessary; seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. Free-will donations are gratefully accepted at the door.

This is part of a weekly series of free 35-minute concerts, every Thursday at 1:15 p.m. No tickets required; seating first-come, first-served. For more information, go to or call 212/866-0468.

Related Articles


BWW Reviews: BOUNDLESS: AUSTRALIAN STRING QUARTET Reinvigorated the ClassicsBWW Reviews: BOUNDLESS: AUSTRALIAN STRING QUARTET Reinvigorated the Classics

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

Composer Lera Auerbach to Launch Bold New Commissioning Project for Upcoming 'Concerto for Piano and Orchestra'Composer Lera Auerbach to Launch Bold New Commissioning Project for Upcoming 'Concerto for Piano and Orchestra'
by Peter Danish