The Joyce Presents LES BALLETS TROCKADERO DE MONTE CARLO, 12/18-1/6

‚Äč

The-Joyce-Presents-LES-BALLETS-TROCKADERO-DE-MONTE-CARLO-1218-20010101

The Joyce Theater is thrilled to welcome back the brilliant and hilarious Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo for its biannual three-week NYC holiday engagement, December 18, 2012 – January 6, 2013. The season will feature two different programs, including the highly anticipated U.S. premiere of Laurencia, choreographed in 1939 by Vakhtang Chabukiani for the Kirov Ballet. Tickets are $10*-$59 and can be arranged by calling JoyceCharge at 212-242-0800 or online at www.joyce.org. Please note: ticket prices are subject to change. (*$10 tickets have been made available by generous support from the MetLife Foundation.) The Joyce Theater is located at 175 Eighth Avenue at 19th Street, in Chelsea.

Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo (Tory Dobrin, Artistic Director), the tutu-fabulous all-male international dance sensation, returns to The Joyce Theater with two joyful programs just in time for the holidays. With their astounding mastery of ballet technique, flamboyant personalities, hilarious parodying and maybe a little more chest hair than your average Giselle, the TROCKS, as they are affectionately known, receive raucous laughter and wild applause throughout the world. These internationally-renowned ballerinas illuminate the passion, tragedy and joy of classical ballet, all squeezed into size 12 pointe shoes.

For this engagement, the company will present two programs of works including audience favorites such as Paquita, Go For Barocco and Swan Lake. Most anticipated, however, will be the U.S. premiere of an excerpt from the final act of Laurencia, a 1939 piece about a peasant revolution, originally choreographed by Vakhtang Chabukiani. Commissioned by The Joyce Theater, Laurencia has never before been seen in this country. See these classical works – and more – performed by the primo ballerinas that have made this beloved troupe the foremost all-male comic ballet company in the world.

With legends like Olga Supphozova, Sveltlana Lofatkina and Lariska Dumbchenko returning with the company, the TROCKS are guaranteed to provide a shimmering, comedic and superlatively danced evening of family-friendly ballet this holiday season.

PERFORMANCE SCHEDULE
Tuesday, December 18 at 7:30pm - Opening of Program A
Wednesday, December 19 at 7:30pm (Dance Chat) - Program A
Thursday, December 20 at 8pm - Opening of Program B
Friday, December 21 at 8pm - Program B
Saturday, December 22 at 3pm - Program B
Saturday, December 22 at 8pm - Program B
Sunday, December 23 at 3pm - Program B
Monday, December 24 - No Perfomance
Tuesday, December 25 - No Performance
Wednesday, December 26 at 3pm - Program B
Wednesday, December 26 at 7:30pm - Program B
Thursday, December 27 at 8pm - Program A
Friday, December 28 at 8pm - Program A
Saturday, December 29 at 3pm - Program A
Saturday, December 29 at 8pm - Program A
Sunday, December 30 at 3pm - Program A
Monday, December 31 - No Performance
Tuesday, January 1 - No Performace
Wednesday, January 2 at 7:30pm - Program A
Thursday, January 3 at 8pm - Program A
Friday, January 4 at 8pm - Program A
Saturday, January 5 at 3pm - Program B
Sunday, January 5 at 8pm - Program B
Sunday, January 6 at 3pm - Program B

Program A:
Swan Lake Act II, Pas de Deux to be announced, Go For Barocco, Laurencia*
Program B:
Les Sylphides, Pas de Deux to be announced, Le Grand Pas de Quatre, Paquita
*U.S. Premiere

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Advertisement