Sarah Ruhl's STAGE KISS Joins Playwrights Horizons Season

March 26
1:59 PM 2013

Sarah Ruhl's STAGE KISS Joins Playwrights Horizons Season

Playwrights Horizons, under the leadership of Artistic Director Tim Sanford and Managing Director Leslie Marcus, has announced the sixth and final production of its 2013/2014 Season: Stage Kiss, the New York premiere of a play by two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Sarah Ruhl (Dead Man's Cell Phone at PH; The Clean House, In the Next Room), directed by Rebecca Taichman (Milk Like Sugar at PH; Orlando, The Scene, the recent Luck of the Irish), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater, beginning February 2014.

STAGE KISS reunites Ms. Ruhl and Ms. Taichman, who previously collaborated on the World Premiere of Dead Man's Cell Phone, the New York premiere of Orlando and the DC premiere of The Clean House.

STAGE KISS joins the previously-announced 2013/2014 Season line-up that already includes three World Premieres and two New York premieres (including a new musical), which will be presented at the theater company's home at 416 West 42nd Street. In Season order, the other five productions will be:

Mr. Burns, A POST-ELECTRIC PLAY - the New York premiere of a new play by Anne Washburn (The Internationalist), with music by Obie Award winner Michael Friedman (Saved, The Drunken City at PH; Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson), directed by Obie Award winner Steve Cosson (Gone Missing, This Beautiful City, founding Artistic Director of The Civilians), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater. Mr. Burns will be the first production of the season, beginning previews on Friday, August 23, 2013. Writing on the World Premiere at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company in Washington, DC, Peter Marks of The Washington Post called it, "Inexhaustibly original. The sort of once in a blue moon show that stays stuck in your brain long after it has chilled you to the bone.

THE PATRON SAINT OF SEA MONSTERS - the World Premiere of a new play by Marlane Meyer (The Chemistry of Change for PH; Etta Jenks, Moe's Lucky Seven), directed by two-time Obie Award winner Lisa Peterson (The Chemistry of Change for PH; An Iliad, Slavs!) presented at Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater, beginning previews on Friday, October 18, 2013.

THE (Curious Case of the) WATSON INTELLGENCE - the World Premiere of a new play by Madeleine George (The Zero Hour), directed by two-time Obie Award winner Leigh Silverman (Go Back to Where You Are, Blue Door and the current The Call at PH; Chinglish, Golden Child, Well), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theater, beginning November 2013.

YOUR MOTHER'S COPY OF THE KAMA SUTRA - the World Premiere of a new play by Kirk Lynn (Founder, Rude Mechanicals, Austin), directed by Anne Kauffman (Detroit, Maple & Vine at PH; Belleville), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater, beginning April 2014.

FLY BY NIGHT: A NEW MUSICAL - the New York premiere of a new musical conceived by Kim Rosenstock (Tigers Be Still), by Ms. Rosenstock, Will Connolly (performer, Once) and Michael Mitnick (Sex Lives of Our Parents), presented at Playwrights Horizons' Mainstage Theatre, beginning May 2014. Writing on the World Premiere at TheatreWorks in Palo Alto, CA, Robert Hurwitt of The San Francisco Chronicle called it, "A breathtakingly good new musical. Smart, funny and poignant lyrics nestle in sweet melodies within a brain teasing well-told tale."

Bios and production details for each of the six productions of the 2013/2014 Season (in Season order) can be found starting on page 3 of this release. All casting information and dates for the six shows will be announced in the coming months.

Patron Program Memberships begin at $1,500 (all but $550 is tax-deductible) and include two house seats to all six Playwrights Horizons productions reserved only for Patrons, as well as a variety of exclusive benefits including invitations to attend special events with artists, staff and board members.

Three subscription packages to Playwrights Horizons' 2013/2014 season are now available: a 6-show Subscription package (starting at $230 for renewing subscribers, four Mainstage and two Peter Jay Sharp Theater Productions); FlexPass (4+ tickets, $45-50 per ticket); and Membership ($55 membership fee + one ticket at $40 or less for each show, as desired). In addition, the company will continue to offer 30&Under Membership ($20 membership fee + one $20 ticket for each show, as desired); and Student Membership ($10 membership fee + one $10 ticket for each show, as desired). In addition to discounts on all Mainstage season attractions, subscribers receive priority booking and seating, ticket exchange privileges, parking and dining discounts, and exclusive mailings of Playwrights Horizons Bulletins. Packages will be available at shortly.

Playwrights Horizons is a writer's theater dedicated to the support and development of contemporary American Playwrights, composers and lyricists and to the production of their new work. Under the leadership of artistic director Tim Sanford and managing director Leslie Marcus, the theater company continues to encourage the new work of veteran writers while nurturing an emerging generation of theater artists. In its 42 years, Playwrights Horizons has presented the work of more than 375 writers and has received numerous awards and honors, including a special 2008 Drama Desk Award for "ongoing support to generations of theater artists and undiminished commitment to producing new work." Notable productions include five Pulitzer Prize winners - Bruce Norris's Clybourne Park (2012 Tony Award, Best Play), Doug Wright's I Am My Own Wife (2004 Tony Award, Best Play), Wendy Wasserstein's The Heidi Chronicles (1989 Tony Award, Best Play), Alfred Uhry's Driving Miss Daisy and Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine's Sunday in the Park with George - as well as Lisa D'Amour's Detroit, Samuel D. Hunter's The Whale, Kirsten Greenidge's Milk Like Sugar (2012 Obie Award), Gina Gionfriddo's Rapture, Blister, Burn; Dan LeFranc's The Big Meal; Amy Herzog's After the Revolution and The Great God Pan; Annie Baker's Circle Mirror Transformation (three 2010 Obie Awards including Best New American Play) and The Flick (Susan Smith Blackburn Prize), Bathsheba Doran's Kin; Adam Bock's A Small Fire; Edward Albee's Me, Myself & I; Melissa James Gibson's This (2010 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize finalist); Doug Wright, Scott Frankel and Michael Korie's Grey Gardens (three 2007 Tony Awards); Craig Lucas's Prayer For My Enemy and Small Tragedy (2004 Obie Award, Best American Play); Adam Rapp's Kindness; Sarah Ruhl's Dead Man's Cell Phone; Lynn Nottage's Fabulation (2005 Obie Award for Playwriting); Kenneth Lonergan's Lobby Hero; David Greenspan's She Stoops to Comedy (2003 Obie Award); Kirsten Childs's The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin (2000 Obie Award); Richard Nelson and Shaun Davey's James Joyce's The Dead; Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman's Assassins; William Finn's March of the Falsettos and Falsettoland; Christopher Durang's Betty's Summer Vacation and Sister Mary Ignatius Explains It All For You; Richard Nelson's Goodnight Children Everywhere; Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty's Once on This Island; Jon Robin Baitz's The Substance of Fire; Scott McPherson's Marvin's Room; A.R. Gurney's Later Life; Adam Guettel and Tina Landau's Floyd Collins; and Jeanine Tesori and Brian Crawley's Violet.

buy tickets

Related Articles



Save $$$ on Tickets to:
Backstage with Richard Ridge
JERSEY BOYS' Mark Ballas
Backstage Bite
Thanksgiving Special!
Turning the Tables
Randy Rainbow w/ FIDDLER Cast
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
CHEWING THE SCENERY-Randy Rainbow Checks in with Liza Minnelli to Chat HAIRSPRAY LIVE!, Pence & More!
Open Mic'ers Bring It All to Broadway Sessions!
Advertisement Advertisement