Photo Flash: 2009 Irene Sharaff Awards

April 1
12:15 PM 2009

Legendary designers William Ivey Long and Bob Crowley were among the four recipients of the 2009 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards. Five-time Tony Award winning costume designer William Ivey Long will receive the 2009 TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award for theatrical costume design, and, for his achievements as both a costume and scenic designer, Bob Crowley (also a five-time Tony Award winner) received the TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards' special Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theatrical Design at a ceremony on Friday, March 27, at the Hudson Theatre in New York City.

In addition to Mr. Long's TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award and Crowley's Robert L.B. Tobin Award for Lifetime Achievement, costume designer Clint Ramos received the TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award, and famed theatre craftsman/designer Sally Ann Parsons received the TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award. In honor of the 15th Anniversary of the awards, there was a special memorial tribute to legendary designer Irene Sharaff, for whom the awards are named.

Throughout her long and distinguished career, elegance and an attention to detail were the trademarks of costume designer Irene Sharaff. Miss Sharaff was revered as a designer of enormous depth and intelligence, equally secure with both contemporary and period costumes. Her work exemplified the best of costume design. Such excellence is demonstrated by the winners of the 2009 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards, who were selected by the TDF Costume Collection's Advisory Committee.

The TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards are presented through Theatre Development Fund's Costume Collection.

Photos courtesy of David LeShay

Photo Flash: 2009 Irene Sharaff Awards
William Ivey Long, Sally Ann Parsons, Bob Crowley and Clint Ramos

Photo Flash: 2009 Irene Sharaff Awards
Jack O'Brien, Stockard Channing, Bob Crowley

Photo Flash: 2009 Irene Sharaff Awards
William Ivey Long, Maria Brizzi, Edwin Schlossberg, Caroline Kennedy

Photo Flash: 2009 Irene Sharaff Awards
Victoria Bailey, Roberta Maxwell, Sally Ann Parsons, Willa Kim, Earl D. Weiner, Jerry Zaks, Robert Perziola, Linda Harbinger, Bob Crowley, Clint Ramos, Mel Weingart, William Ivey Long and Jack O'Brien

Advertisement Advertisement


HAIRSPRAY LIVE! Latest - NBCUniversal to Offer Inclusive Viewing Experience of HAIRSPRAY LIVE!
Save $$$ on Tickets to:
Backstage with Richard Ridge
JERSEY BOYS' Mark Ballas
Backstage Bite
Thanksgiving Special!
Turning the Tables
BWW TV LAST MINUTE with Randy Rainbow Congas to ON YOUR FEET!
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
Randy Rainbow Checks in w/ Liza to Chat HAIRSPRAY, Pence & More!
Open Mic'ers Bring It All to Broadway Sessions!
Advertisement AdvertisementAdvertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement