Moulin Rouge! - Broadway Creative Team

Moulin Rouge! Broadway from $74

Production Staff

John Logan Book Writer
John Logan received the Tony, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle and Drama League awards for his play Red. Other plays include Peter and Alice, I'll Eat You Last: A Chat With Sue Mengers and Never the Sinner. As a screenwriter, Logan has been three-times nominated for the Oscar, and has received Golden Globe, BAFTA, WGA, Edgar and PEN Center awards. His films include Skyfall, Spectre, Hugo, The Avia­tor, Gladiator, Rango, Genius, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, The Last Samurai and Any Given Sunday. He also created "Penny Dreadful" for Showtime. ... read more
Baz Luhrmann Author
Jim Simpson and Casting
David Brian Brown Wig and Hair Design
Broadway highlights: Dear Evan Hansen, She Loves Me, Curious Incident..., Gigi, The Bridges of Madison County, If/Then, Macbeth, Death of a Salesman, Follies, Sister Act, Arcadia, A Steady Rain, Shrek, The Little Mermaid, Legally Blonde, Spamalot, Tarzan, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, Nine, Gypsy, Sweet Smell of Success, The Invention of Love, Aida, The Iceman Cometh, Chicago, Side Show, Steel Pier. Film/TV credits: "Peter Pan Live!" (NBC), "The Sound of Music Live!" (NBC), It’s Complicated, Angels in America (Emmy-nominated), To Wong Foo... ... read more
Bill Damaschke Executive Producer
Peter Hylenski Sound Designer
Peter Hylenski received a Drama Desk Award and an Outer Critics Circle Award Honour for his work on Moulin Rouge! The Musical. A Grammy, Olivier, and seven-time Tony nominee, his selected design credits include Frozen, Anastasia, Beetlejuice, Once on This Island, Something Rotten, King Kong, Rock of Ages, After Midnight, Motown, The Scottsboro Boys, Side Show, Rocky, Bullets Over Broadway, Shrek the Musical, On a Clear Day You Can See Forever, Lend Me a Tenor, Elf, Wonderland, Cry-Baby, The Times They Are a-Changin’, The Wedding Singer, Sweet Charity, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me. ... read more
Justin Levine Music Supervisor
Justin Levine received an Outer Critics Circle Award Honour for his work on Moulin Rouge! The Musical and a Grammy Award nomination as a co-producer of the show’s cast album. His recent credits include A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Delacorte, Drama Desk nomina­tion), Vevo X Lorde: “Melodrama” (Electric Lady Studios), Contemporary Color (David Byrne, Barclays Center), The Outsiders (Goodman Theater), Here Lies Love (Public Theater, National Theatre, Seattle Rep, MASS MoCA), The Weight of Smoke (Paul Taylor/Doug Elkins, Lincoln Center), Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson (Broadway/Public Theater), Love’s Labour’s Lost (Delacorte), The Robber Bridegroom (Roundabout), Murder Ballad (MTC/Union Square). ... read more
Derek McLane Set Designer
Derek McLane received a Drama Desk Award and an Outer Critics Circle Award Honour for his work on Moulin Rouge! The Musical. He has designed over 350 productions for Broadway, Off-Broadway, internationally and for TV. His over 40 credits include Burn This, The Parisian Woman, Anything Goes, The Price, Fully Committed, Beautiful, Ragtime, I Am My Own Wife and 33 Variations (Tony Award). He has designed the Academy Awards for six years (Emmy Award) and has designed four live musicals for NBC, including “Hairspray” (Emmy Award). ... read more
Matt Stine Music Producer
Matt Stine is a talented actor who has made a name for himself on both the Broadway stage and on television. Born and raised in New York City, Stine developed a love for acting at a young age and pursued it throughout his education. He attended the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University, where he honed his craft and made connections that would serve him well in his career. Stine made his Broadway debut in 2009, when he was cast in the ensemble of the hit musical "Billy Elliot." He quickly proved himself to be a versatile performer, ... read more
Sonya Tayeh Choreographer
Sonya Tayeh is a New York City based Tony Award winning choreographer and director. Since paving her professional career her work has been characterized as a blend of powerful versatility and theatrical range. Upcoming: Gatsby (A.R.T/Dir. Rachel Chavkin). Selected credits include: Moulin Rouge! The Musical! (Broadway, World Wide/Dir. Alex Timbers), The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window (Broadway/Dir. Anne Kauffman), Is It Thursday Yet? (La Jolla Playhouse and Perelman Arts Center/Directed, Conceived and Co Choreographed), Sing Street (Huntington Theatre, Boston/Dir. Rebecca Taichman), Martha Graham Dance Company (Joyce Theatre/Tour), American Ballet Theatre/What Becomes of Love Dance Film, Unveiling with Moses Sumney and ... read more
Foresight Theatrical General Management
Alex Timbers Director
Alex Timbers is a Tony-nominated writer-director and the recipient of Lucille Lortel, Drama Desk, and Outer Critics Circle Awards, as well as two OBIE Awards. Credits include: The Pee-wee Herman Show, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson (also book writer; Drama Desk, Lortel, and OCC Awards, Tony nomination), A Very Merry Unauthorized Pageant (OBIE Award, Garland Award-Best Director), Gutenberg! The Musical! (Drama Desk nom. - Best Director of a Musical), Peter and the Starcatcher (co-director, OBIE Award- Best Director), Hell House (Drama Desk nom. - Unique Theatrical Experience). Alex was President of the Yale Dramat and is the Artistic Director of downtown ... read more
Justin Townsend Lighting Designer
Justin Townsend received a Drama Desk Award and an Outer Critics Circle Award Honour for his work on Moulin Rouge! The Musical. His Broadway credits include Jagged Little Pill, Saint Joan, Present Laughter, The Little Foxes, The Humans (Tony nomination), American Psycho (Tony nomination), Fool for Love, Casa Valentina, A Night with Janis Joplin, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, The Other Place, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson. He served as Creative Director for Drake’s “Boy Meets World” European Tour and OVO Fest 2017. He previously worked with Alex Timbers on Here Lies Love. He is an associate professor at ... read more
Catherine Zuber Costume Designer

Awards and Nominations

2020 Drama Desk Awards
Outstanding Choreography: Sonya Tayeh won.
Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical: Catherine Zuber won.
Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical: Justin Townsend won.
Outstanding Scenic Design for a Musical: Derek McLane won.
Outstanding Sound Design for a Musical: Peter Hylenski won.

2020 Drama League Awards
Distinguished Performance Award : Karen Olivo was nominated but did not win.
Distinguished Performance Award: Danny Burstein won.
Outstanding Production of a Musical: Moulin Rouge! won.

2020 Outer Critics Circle Awards
Outstanding Choreographer: Sonya Tayeh won.
Outstanding Costume Design: Catherine Zuber won.
Outstanding Director of a Musical: Alex Timbers won.
Outstanding Lighting Design: Justin Townsend won.
Outstanding New Broadway Musical: Moulin Rouge! won.
Outstanding Orchestrations: Justin Levine won.
Outstanding Scenic Design: Derek McLane won.
Outstanding Sound Design: Peter Hylenski won.

2020 Tony Awards
Best Book of a Musical: John Logan was nominated but did not win.
Best Choreography: Sonya Tayeh won.
Best Costume Design of a Musical: Catherine Zuber won.
Best Direction of a Musical: Alex Timbers won.
Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Justin Townsend was nominated but did not win.
Best Musical: Moulin Rouge! won.
Best Orchestrations: Katie Kresek won.
Best Scenic Design of a Musical: Derek McLane won.
Best Sound Design of a Musical: Peter Hylenski won.

Ticket Central