Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Signature's THE ANTIPODES Extends for Third Time!

The Signature Theatre (Paige Evans, Artistic Director; Erika Mallin, Executive Director; James Houghton, Founder) world premiere production of The Antipodes, written by Residency Five playwright Annie Baker and directed by Lila Neugebauer, has been extended by for a third time. The production will now run through June 4, 2017 with a Sunday, April 23 opening in The Romulus Linney Courtyard Theatre at The Pershing Square Signature Center (480 West 42nd Street between 9th and 10th Avenues).

The cast includes Obie Award-winner Phillip James Brannon (Tiny Beautiful Things), Emmy Award nominee Josh Charles ("The Good Wife"), Josh Hamilton ("Madam Secretary"), Danny Mastrogiorgio ("Gotham"), Danny McCarthy ("Prison Break"), Emily Cass McDonnell (Mercury Fur), Brian Miskell (The Flick), Obie Award-winner Will Patton (Fool For Love), Nicole Rodenburg (Venus in Fur).

The creative team includes Laura Jellinek (Scenic Design), Kaye Voyce (Costume Design), Tyler Micoleau (Lighting Design), Bray Poor (Sound Design), David Neumann (Choreographer). Laura Smith is the Production Stage Manager. Casting by Telsey + Company.

A play about people telling stories about telling stories. The Antipodes is the second production in Pulitzer Prize-winner Annie Baker's Signature residency.

Waitlist tickets are available for sold-out performances at the ground floor Box Office window one hour prior to show time. To purchase tickets for all Signature Productions, call Ticket Services at 212-244-7529 (Tues. - Sun., 11am - 6pm) or visit



The Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World AKA the Negro Book of the Dead

By Suzan-Lori Parks

Directed by Lileana Blain-Cruz

Final performance played on Sunday, December 18 in The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre


By Suzan-Lori Parks

Directed by Lear deBessonet

Begins April 25, 2017 | The Irene Diamond Stage

Traveling from her home in southern Africa for what she hoped would be a better life, Saartjie Baartman became an unfortunate star on the 19th Century London freak show circuit. This Obie Award-winning play gives vibrant life to the story of Baartman's journey to London, her rise to fame as the "Hottentot Venus," and her eventual relationship with a French scientist. Inspired by the true story of Baartman, Venus is a tragic-carnival, an intense and devastating journey honoring the life of Baartman and examining the way we live and love today.


"Master Harold"... and the boys

Written and Directed by Athol Fugard

Final performance played on Sunday, December 11 in The Irene Diamond Stage


(World Premiere)

By Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Directed by Lila Neugebauer
Final performance played on Sunday, March 19 in The Irene Diamond Stage

Wakey, Wakey

(World Premiere)

Written and directed by Will Eno

Final performance played on April 2, 2017 in The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre

The Antipodes
(World Premiere)

By Annie Baker
Directed by Lila Neugebauer
Now playing through June 4, 2017 | The Romulus Linney Courtyard Theatre

A play about people telling stories about telling stories. Pulitzer Prize-winner Annie Baker, who The New York Times has called "one of the freshest and most talented dramatists to emerge Off Broadway in the past decade," returns for the second production of her Signature residency with The Antipodes.

The Antipodes is generously supported by Catherine Adler.

Additional support for Annie Baker's Residency is generously provided by Jon & NoraLee Sedmak.

Special thanks to the Time Warner Foundation, Inc. and The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust for supporting the Residency Five Program.

The Residency Five Playwright Award is generously supported by the Genesis Foundation.

About Signature Theatre

Signature celebrates playwrights and gives them an artistic home. By producing multiple plays by each of its resident writers, Signature offers an in-depth look at these writers' bodies of work. In addition, Signature engages the writer in every aspect of the creative process.

Signature serves its mission through its permanent home at The Pershing Square Signature Center, a three-theatre facility on West 42nd Street designed by Frank Gehry Architects to host Signature's three distinct playwrights' residencies and foster a cultural community. At the Center, opened in January 2012, Signature continues its founding Playwrights-in-Residence model as Residency One, a first-of-its-kind, intensive exploration of a single writer's body of work. Residency Five was launched in 2012 to support multiple playwrights as they build bodies of work by guaranteeing each writer three productions over a five-year period. The Legacy Program, launched during Signature's 10th Anniversary Season, invites writers from both residencies back for productions of premiere or earlier plays. In 2014 Signature became the first New York City theatre to receive the Regional Theatre Tony Award.

The Pershing Square Signature Center provides a cultural venue that supports and encourages collaboration among artists throughout the space. In addition to its three intimate theatres, the Center features a Studio Theatre, a rehearsal studio, and a public café, bar and bookstore. Through the groundbreaking Signature Ticket Initiative: A Generation of Access, Signature has made an unprecedented commitment to making its productions affordable by underwriting the cost of initial run tickets, currently priced at $30, through 2031. Serving as a model for theatres and performing arts organizations across the country, the Initiative was founded in 2005 and is made possible by lead partner The Pershing Square Foundation. Additional support provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation, the Ford Foundation, Margot Adams, and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

Founded in 1991 by James Houghton, Signature has presented entire seasons of the work of Edward Albee, Lee Blessing, Horton Foote, María Irene Fornés, Athol Fugard, John Guare, A.R. Gurney, David Henry Hwang, Bill Irwin, Adrienne Kennedy, Tony Kushner, Romulus Linney, Charles Mee, Arthur Miller, Sam Shepard, Paula Vogel, Naomi Wallace, August Wilson, Lanford Wilson, and a season celebrating the historic Negro Ensemble Company. Suzan-Lori Parks is the current Residency One playwright. Signature's current Residency Five playwrights are Annie Baker, Martha Clarke, Will Eno, Katori Hall, Quiara Alegría Hudes, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Kenneth Lonergan and ReGina Taylor. In addition to the Regional Theatre Tony Award, Signature's productions and its resident writers have been recognized with the Pulitzer Prize, Lucille Lortel Awards, Obie Awards, Drama Desk Awards, and AUDELCO Awards, among many other distinctions.

Delta Air Lines is the Official Airline of Signature Theatre.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You