Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

2007-8 Lortel Award Winners Announced


The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers presented the 23rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway on Monday night, May 5, 2008 at the Union Square Theatre. Among the presenters were Jeff Bowen & Hunter Bell ([title of show]), Christopher Gattelli, Joanna Gleason, AR Gurney, Cheyenne Jackson, John Kelly, Paul Libin, and S. Epatha Merkerson, Martha Plimpton, Laila Robins, Anika Noni Rose, Tamara Tunie. Julie White served as Mistress of Ceremonies.  Cast members from Adding Machine, Jump, Next to Normal, Passing Strange, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower), and Wanda's World performed.
The 2007-2008 Lucille Lortel Awards nominating/voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and also includes journalists, educators, and other Off-Broadway theatre professionals.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.  Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund. Support also provided by Ketel One Vodka and Pepper Bridge Winery.

Three special awards were presented:

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence
Theodore Mann

Outstanding Body of Work
Primary Stages

Unique Theatrical Experience
Horizon, Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Outstanding Play
Written by George Packer
Produced by Culture Project

Outstanding Musical
Adding Machine
Original Music by Joshua Schmidt, Libretto by Jason Loewith and Joshua Schmidt
Produced by Scott Morfee, Tom Wirtshafter, and Margaret Cotter

Outstanding Solo Show
Dai (enough)
Written and Performed by Iris Bahr
Produced by Bernie Kukoff, Jonathan Pollard, Jon Cutler in association with Highbrow Entertainment

Outstanding Revival
Ohio State Murders
Written by Adrienne Kennedy
Produced by Theatre for a New Audience

Outstanding Director
David Cromer, Adding Machine

Outstanding Choreographer
Peter Pucci, Queens Boulevard (the musical)

Outstanding Lead Actor
Joel Hatch, Adding Machine

Outstanding Lead Actress
Elizabeth Franz, The Piano Teacher

Outstanding Featured Actor
Francis Jue, Yellow Face

Outstanding Featured Actress
Mare Winningham, 10 Million Miles

Outstanding Scenic Design
Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Outstanding Costume Design
Michael Bottari & Ronald Case, and Jessica Jahn, Die Mommie Die!

Outstanding Lighting Design
Keith Parham, Adding Machine

Outstanding Sound Design
Jorge Cousineau, Opus


Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You